Joey

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Multi-lingual music artist/volunteer. Looking to travel and write, as well as gain experience so I can some day open my own sustainable community. I'm very social, I enjoy group living, and I'm honest and respectful. Originally from New Jersey, USA. Graduated from Tulane University with a degree in political science international development, and a minor in Italian. I studied art and literature in Bologna, Italy and philosophy in Dharamshala, India.

    I write poetry, usually in the form of rap music. I also make beats, play, and play keyboard and guitar. I love to perform when people are interested in hearing.

    I recently lived in Kibbutz Harduf in northern Israel for 5 months, and took part in a coexistence volunteer cohort. There I taught english to children, worked in a bakery with adults with special needs, performed as the main role in a play scripted in Arabic and Hebrew, and prepared nightly vegetarian dinners for groups of 15. I have stayed at countless hostels and guesthouses all over the world, and have frequented an endless amount of cafes and restaurants, so I have a great sense of hospitality and service. I am very capable of preparing vegan/vegetarian to large groups of people.

    When it comes to living standards, I have experience with minimalist conditions: tents or wooden bunks, growing and eating vegetables, separating trash and keeping a compost, using solar-powered water heaters, preserving water, etc. I prefer a simple lifestyle conducive to preserving nature. I always clean up after myself and usually after others as well.

    I am interested in: foreign languages, history, philosophy, art. Right now most importantly: nature and sustainable living; most importantly finding a natural rhythm between our selves and the earth. I find this very difficult to do in large cities. I love art: music, theatre, film, painting, drawing, podcasting, animating. I write and meditate every day. I will mention that, while communal living is a dearly important lifestyle choice for me, I do like to take time for personal mindfulness practices, especially in the mornings and evenings. I believe it is important to maintain a sense of inner tranquility so that one can share a more positive frequency with the community. My mindfulness practices never conflict with work shifts and help me function in a much more focused and effective manner.

    I am easygoing, I do not expect much, and I appreciate anything given to me. I think hosts will find that I am a truly responsible and positive individual, and that I may be "wise beyond my years." I try my hardest to remain an honest, conscious and respectful human being.

    I certainly prefer to have my own room when it comes to accommodation, for mental health practices such as morning and evening meditation. I do not at all mind living in a tent.

    I speak Spanish, Italian and decent Hebrew. I am a strong communicator and I am able to manage well independently and with a group :)

    Look me up on Spotify/Apple Music/Deezer/Youtube/Soundcloud and you can check out my music. Joey Aronskind.

    Summer 2020:
    Barista/server
    Tea NJ, Jersey City, New Jersey

    Fall 2020:
    Barista/server/driver
    Patisserie Lenox, Great Barrington, Massachusetts & Hudson, NY

    Waiter
    Cafe Rio
    Great Barrington, Massachusetts

    Music releases:
    Prelude to Climbers (mixtape Sept 2020)
    Climbers of Short Hills (album Nov 2020)
    Portrait of the Poet as a Young Man (self-produced mixtape Dec 2020)
    All-American Aronskind's (July 2021)

    Summer 2021
    Barista/server
    For All Things Good
    - Michelin star-rated Oaxacan cafe in Brooklyn, NY
    - spoke fluent Spanish with coworkers and owners
    - welcome all customers
    - cashier for an average $3,000 revenue shift
    - organize kitchen orders and serve them directly to customers' table
    - make coffee drinks such as espresso, latte, capuccino
    - prepare Horchata, agua fresca de jamaica, and cold brew
    - juice limes, cucumbers, grapefruit, peppers
    - prepare margaritas and mixed drinks

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Interpersonal skills
    Service/Hospitality
    Cooking
    Baking
    Craft/Trade Work
    Guest/Tourist Assistance
    Media/Computer Skills
    Arts [photography, poetry, (song)writing, film, drawing, design]
    Baby/Pet/House Sitting
    Language Help

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Hebrew: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan/vegetarian

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback