Joseph

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/05/2019 - 19/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My name is Joe and I from from Michigan, United States. I am a recent graduate from university and a current Jesuit Volunteer living in community with other volunteers.

    I am a beginner gardener and enjoy being outside with nature. I am a big fan of all animals, specifically cats. Hard work is something that I always enjoy and love to learn new things. I love the opportunity to dirty my hands and enjoy being outdoors. I am a big fan of experiencing the physical environment around me and enjoy moving around by walking or running. I have a youthful approach to life but have a mature understanding of the world. I love to connect with people and work with others but am also very capable of working independently.

    I have left the United States few times, but I am lucky to have had some great cultural and volunteer experiences. I have great relationships with the indigenous community in Pine Ridge, South Dakota and have spent time with them engaging in culture and admiring the natural and physical environment. I have stayed with an intentional living community twice now that serves their city in home repair projects. I have also spent a few weeks in Italy pet and house sitting. These experiences have been vital in my formation as a person. I think this highlights my openness to learn and be fully immersed into new communities and cultures.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I am not proficient, but I have some skills in home repair. I am a hobby gardener and grew up on a farm so I have some knowledge and skill in that area. I have a degree in community leadership, political science, and communication so I am typically inclined towards people and more social work vs. physical labor, but I have a great attitude and work ethic that can help me accomplish most anything! We recently had one of the worst winters ever in Michigan, so I am yearning to be outside and build on my skills in gardening and farming. I have an artistic eye and love to utilize it. I can be very detail oriented when I need to be and am capable of working well alone and with others! I love any chance I get to work hard and dirty my hands.

  • Languages spoken

    English, very little Spanish and Italian

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I enjoy living simply and am capable of thriving in new, unfamiliar settings. I would prefer to stay somewhere where I can sleep indoors.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a vegetarian.

Photos

Feedback