Jared

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Costa Rica, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/08/2020 - 15/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Passionate self-starter looking to have a direct impact on the people and places I encounter. Adventurous, willing to try anything at least once. I was a competitive swimmer for years, these days I run and practice yoga when I can. Keen interest in ocean sports such as surfing, sailing, and freediving. Have spent many days outdoors working at a local vineyard; not shy of hands-on work with agriculture and carpentry. Always believe in doing things right the first time around. A skilled photographer, able to help where I can with computers and technology as well. I was a lifeguard, pool manager and swim team coash for years, customer service is a strength of mine. CPR/AED/First Aid trained. Most recently I have been enamored with permaculture and natural building after spending several months on a few projects in Puerto Rico in late 2020.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've spent several seasons working around agriculture at a family vineyard in the Midwest. Everything from planting, weeding, and harvesting a variety of fruit to operating machinery and power tools to improve and maintain the property. Very comfortable with woodworking, sanding, staining, and painting. I've upcycled materials to turn things like car hoods into roof shingles and pallet wood into bar stools. Introduced to natural building techniques doing a cob plaster at a Superadobe build in the mountains of Puerto Rico. I would say I'm a generalist of sorts, show me the ropes on something new and I can get the hang of it fairly quickly. My education is in finance and economics, and my occupational background is in aquatics, customer service, and financial markets.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Catalan: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    IG: @_pocket_full_of_posey_

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback