James & Ariana

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/02/2020 - 03/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi there! I’m James - I’m in my mid twenties traveling with my partner Ariana during free time between school, moves, and jobs. We’ve lived all over the United States and Canada but most recently we’ve been living in Cape Town, South Africa. Ariana and I are very active, we both love being outside and working with our hands. We love walking, running, exploring trails and towns, reading books, solving crosswords, and drinking coffee.

    I have a research background and build software for a living. I'm fairly quiet and reserved, I like my alone time, but I very much enjoy cooking and communal meals. Both Ariana and I are comfortable in the kitchen and are always looking to expand our horizons and knife skills.

    Ariana has a background in Strategic Foresight and Design and the two of us spend a lot of time thinking how to minimize our ecological impact and inspire system change. We're quick learners and plan to set up our own homestead in the long term - so we're looking to absorb as much as we can about self-sufficient living. We love gardening and finding ways to shop and eat waste-free.

    We've gained a lot from our South African experience and are excited to experience Italian ways of living. We are both new to Workaway but Ariana has spent some time in Italy already, studying in Florence for six months and traveling throughout the country for conferences. We’re looking for places to stay for five to seven days where we can be useful but also have time to explore the area. We will not have a car, so ideally we are looking for places accessible by foot or public transport.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Skills:
    - Cooking
    - Cleaning
    - Basic housework (painting, sanding, patching, spackling)
    - Lifting/rearranging
    - Gardening
    - Babysitting/child care
    - Small livestock management (chickens, goats)

    Both very able bodied and eager to learn, even with minimal instruction.

    James has extensive knowledge of software systems. He also has a rudimentary knowledge of electrical systems and is eager to get hands on experience. Also interested in tiling, flooring, roofing, textile work, and plumbing.

    Ariana has significant design, writing, photography, and creative experience. She's interested in permaculture, synergistic farming, improving her Italian or other languages, and new cooking skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Age

    27 & 26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We primarily eat a plant-based diet but do eat yogurt and eggs. We are not opposed to eating meat and fish on occasion but prefer a vegetarian diet.

Feedback