Jimmy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/03/2018 - 02/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home


    Currently in Bristol, interested in all things sustainable living and the natural world.

  • Description

    I have recently begun a part-time year long course in practical sustainability in Bristol. The course, 'Shift', covers a range of topics including eco-builds, organic horticulture, soil and composting, woodland management, permaculture design, green energy/building and much more. I'm looking to make the most of breaks in the course to get involved in helping others realize their own eco-projects, applying what I am learning and picking up new skills and experiences. I want to explore reciprocal and sustainable ways of living within nature.

    I can bring a large amount of enthusiasm, hard-work and an appetite for getting my hands dirty.

    My next available time to come and help out would be for a little more than a week at the end of October.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I don't have any expertise but have been fortunate enough throughout life to have experiences of growing my own veg; being part of local projects (mutual aid groups, food surplus distribution charities, emergency night shelters); labouring and caretaking roles (painting, repairing and maintaining school buildings/grounds); teaching English as a second language and more.

    I've recently enrolled on a woodworking course and am picking up new skills quickly.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Love a game of backgammon, keen walker, fond of a little adventure, enjoy peacefulness, very interested in skilling up on all things sustainable living: eco-builds, organic horticulture, sustainable land use, etc.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Strangely cashew nuts and only cashew nuts.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback