Jill & Thayer

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/01/2020 - 28/02/2020


  • Description

    Greetings from the Pacific Northwest in Washington State, USA. We are a couple of adventurous 63 year olds, retired from the work-a-day world and looking for more interesting things to do with our time and energy. Jill is a recently retired elementary school teacher, currently substitute teaching and trying to figure how to spend all of her new found time. Thayer is an experienced retiree from the tech world, having no trouble at all spending his time with the things he enjoys doing. We have been together for over a decade and spent a year on the road in our 22 ft. RV – so we travel well together. We kept a blog of our journey, which you can visit at https://travel.jillandthayer.net/ . We enjoy working on joint projects as long as we know who the leader is! We are both experienced sailors and river rafters, with our last big shared sailing venture from Bermuda to the Azores to England in a 44 ft. boat. We also recently rafted the lower section of the Grand Canyon, and have spent time in Idaho and Wyoming on other fine rivers. Over the past several years we've been raising and promoting mason bees – this year ending with over 3500 of the industrious little insects. We are politically liberal, environmentally conscious, and try to live in a sustainable, non-wasteful way. In our travels the thing we have enjoyed the most is meeting local folks and getting to know a place by spending some real time there. We participate in an organization called 'Boondockers Welcome' with our RV and have met many very wonderful people while both traveling and when hosting them here at our home. This is what we hope to do with Workaway.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I (Jill) have 30+ years of teaching experience and enjoy working and spending time with children, especially on projects and outdoor activities. I also manage and maintain a fair sized yard and a small vegetable garden. I can dig, plant, prune, turn compost, build simple things, and help competently on more complex projects. I enjoy painting projects, organizing things, and am a diligent cleaner (though it is not my favorite activity). Cooking is not my strong suit but I can make simple, tasty meals using fresh ingredients. I can follow directions and am a hard worker. I enjoy helping people with their projects and like to accomplish goals and finish projects. I am responsible, respectful and expect the same from the people around me. I am patient, willing to try new things, and generally very cheerful and easy to get along with. Being outdoors is important to me whether I'm working, hiking, sailing, bicycling, or goofing around, I love to be outdoors!
    Thayer has worked in the navy (so he can take orders) and has also worked in the high-tech industry, as a climbing instructor, flying instructor and boat captain (giving orders). He is mechanically, electrically and technically inclined, fixes vehicles and toasters and computers and whatever is in between. He does wood working, welds, designs and builds websites, served on a national magazine as a content and photo editor, including layout and graphic design. Although he has not performed any major surgeries, he is pretty good at removing splinters. He studied architecture in college, is interested in alternative or traditional low-impact building techniques and would like to build a straw-bale/cob house. He does offshore boat deliveries for fun. He is entertaining and great fun with most kids but does not indulge bad behavior. He bakes bread. He is a solution looking for a problem. But alas, for all that, ...he also snores. :o(

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    63 & 63

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are carnivores but eat a lot of veggies and fruit

Feedback