Jillian

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 12/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    JILLIAN:
    I am taking a semester off of school. Being a college student at UNC-Chapel Hill in the fall only emphasized that online learning is not for me. I am/was studying Environmental Science and Marine Science. I am interested in ecology, conservation, marine life, and learning through hands-on activities. I figured exploring the country will be a more worthwhile experience than sitting at my desk for hours every day!

    I am driving across the country (from North Carolina to California) from the end of January to end of March-ish. My desire is to explore many National Parks, Forests, and other amazing natural landscapes. Due to COVID, I am trying to avoid crowded cities and focus more on camping and exploring the land. I will need at least twice weekly access to wifi as I am working on a remote internship for dolphin research.

    For the past few months, I have been quarantining only seeing 3-4 people because I was living with my mom who is immunosuppressed. For the next couple of months, I hope to participate in a work exchange where hosts believe in COVID-19 and are cautious (ie. wear masks, get tested, etc). I plan to do the same.

    Recently I have volunteered in a community garden and have enjoyed it although it is my first time gardening! I am an early-riser interested in healthy living, all things natural, learning more about the ecology of where I am, yoga, running, compost, permaculture, learning how to sail, renewable energy systems, environmental education/outreach, and all eco-projects! Being on or near the water is my happy place, but I love the mountains and hiking too. I am happiest when I am outside as much as possible :) I am young, strong, organized, energetic, and up for anything!

    My previous paid job experience is mostly in restaurants and service-oriented. My volunteer positions mostly involve working with children.

    WORKAWAY EXPERIENCE:

    I took a gap year after graduating high school in North Carolina, USA. My friend and I backpacked through Peru, Ecuador, and Colombia. We had two great work away experiences working in hostels in Peru and Ecuador with amazing hosts.

    In the summer of 2020, I drove up to Maine and New Hampshire. I helped at a home in Maine cleaning, washing dishes, making dinner, and accommodating AirBnB guests. In New Hampshire, I worked on a homestead cleaning a chicken coop, deconstructing an old coop, pulling weeds, creating a hugelkultur pile, and more.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    -Energetic, optimistic, social
    -Independent and can work alone
    -some knowledge of gardening
    -eager to learn, especially about the environment

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I am interested in learning Spanish

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback