Jessica

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 01/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am 22 years old from Northern Illinois and I'm about to embark on a gap year! I am very excited to meet new people and experience the world. I have been in school since the dawn of time so I am excited to do something different. I love being helpful and connecting with people. I am an introvert so I like my alone time, but when I am with people I try to be present and engaged because I love to hear people's stories and learn about their lives. I also like to laugh and make others laugh. People will describe my humor as really hit or miss, but hopefully it's a hit for you.

    I studied biology and chemistry for my undergraduate degree. I was thinking about going to medical school for a very long time but I could just never bring myself to fully commit. Thinking about the fact that I might have to stay in one place and study my behind off for 8+ more years was becoming less and less appealing to me. The solitude of quarantine has taught me that much. Now I am going to nursing school starting in January of 2021! (Less schooling and more time to pursue other interests? Heck yes!)

    I play piano, violin, and sometimes guitar. I also sing (in the shower). I am a hopeless romantic so I love dramatic movies and TV shows that are filled with romance. I hope to be a foster parent one day, and I'd love to learn how to cut/color hair and produce my own music.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening: I worked in a greenhouse taking care of research plants for 2 years.
    Cooking/cleaning
    English-speaker
    I am interested in childcare though my only experience is volunteering at an elementary school after-school program.
    Hard worker

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    Even though on this website my destination is the US, I would love to fly out to where you are if you would be open to having me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback