Jessie & Patrick

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    Nova Scotia, Canada - from Jan 2022 until Aug 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! We are a couple looking to learn about sustainable/regenerative small scale farming. We have been living on a farmstay in Ontario for the majority of the pandemic and have learnt a lot about living a self-sufficient lifestyle. Now that we are both fully vaccinated we hope to travel to some more farms continue our education before trying to find a piece of property to build our own dream homestead.

    Patrick is originally from California, and Jessie from a rural area west of Montreal. We met in Toronto, where we both moved to go to school.

    Patrick is an ancient historian, he is finishing his PhD focusing on religion in ancient Turkey. He is currently waiting to defend his dissertation. He is extremely knowledgeable about body mobility, injury rehab and is an amateur yogi. An avid waterman and surfer from California, he has found a love for fly fishing and enjoys spending the day exploring rivers and local watering holes. Over the last year, Patrick has been working on his carpentry skills and is always looking to building projects to help with.

    Jessie is interested in growing, preserving and transforming food. She worked in restaurants during her time in university and really enjoyed learning about the industry but has fallen in love with food in a different way since learning how to grow a huge variety of vegetables from seed. She hates to see anything go to waste and enjoys coming up with creative ways to preserve food. She is looking to learn about making cheese and other dairy products as well as curing meat. She went to university for sculpture and also has some rudimentary building skills and is happy to help out with any construction projects around the farm.

    We hope to learn more about livestock, while the farm we have been staying at does not currently have livestock, their daughter is a regenerative farmer and we have helped with some animal chores over the year. We have processed a handful of chickens, rabbits and helped butcher a lamb. We are very interested in learning more about the whole life cycle of animals, and what it entails to care for them.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Jessie loves gardening, from starting seeds and nurturing seeds in the winter months to planning and planting to garden. Weeding, mulching and watching for pests, then cooking fresh produce and preserving the harvest for winter months and finally cleaning and prepping the garden for the next year. Jessie is also a great house painter and enjoys helping organize any forgotten spaces that need a little love.

    Patrick is capable with a chainsaw and is ready and willing to buck firewood or learn about other forestry work. He has been operating a saw mill this summer to prep timbers for a building project as well as making lumber. He has worked on renovating an old farmhouse and wants to be doing more construction work. Patrick also loves spending time in the garden and helping with harvest time. He is a great lawn mower / weed whacker / landscape maintenance man. He is fluent in multiple languages and would love to help you brush up on your German or reading Greek or Latin.

    We both love to keep busy and are not shy about trying new things. We would be happy to tackle any other projects you could throw our way.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner
    Persian (Farsi): Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Latin: Beginner
    Turkish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30 & 31

  • What else ...

    We have been travelling with our cat for the last year. He is a big old guy who adapts well to new places. He takes some time to warm up to other animals but is very friendly with people. He spends most of his time napping in between the rows in garden.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback