Jenn

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Jenn. I'm 22 years old and I'm from Chicago. I traveled for a few months in Europe two years ago and am looking to spend part of the summer workawaying in my home country (USA). I've spent the month of April at an artist residency in Nebraska, reviving a neglected garden, learning how to weld, cooking for a group of friends old and new, and exploring cool spots on google maps on our days off.

    I'm always up for a challenge and I'm a constant seeker of experiences that will make me GROW. I enjoy spiritual, emotional, and deeply personal challenges and finding ways to share as many parts of myself with a community of passionate individuals who are hungry for a life that is connected with the earth and others. I believe in leaving places better than I found them and making them the best they've ever been. I love to observe the world around me. I am so many things unofficially. I love to jam with a bunch of people using my body as an instrument. I am a dancer and a mover. I've been all kinds of artists and now I try to just live my life and experience my emotions as art itself. I am a communicator of all kinds and find often non verbal is best. That being said, I like words too and sometimes I'm a writer and a poet. I'm always seeking new ways to know and be known, to understand and be understood.

    There are many ways I like to share my love with others. One of the main ways being through food. Cooking for a group is something I find endlessly enjoyable, as I love almost nothing more than sitting down to a delicious and healthy meal with a full table of inspired people.

    I do my best thinking when my hands and body are moving outside. I'm always amazed at how many things can work themselves out when my hands are covered in dirt.

    I'm on an ongoing journey, as we all are. I am finding my voice and learning how many different sounds it can make. I want to hear the voices of so many others along my wandering travels and sing a new song together.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Art & design
    Writing
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    While I have many skills, I think my biggest asset is my eagerness to learn new things. I have a background in art and have worked on large scale mosaic pieces, so I have some knowledge of cementing, grouting, and larger project management. I spent many years doing photography and can help with digital editing if need be, now I only do it as a hobby or to document all the wonderful people I come across in my life. I enjoy using my more artistic side to create functional projects and have always wanted to help build an outside brick oven for pizzas or help design and set up a garden.

    I love to cook and have some experience meal planning for a group as well as cooking for a group. Baking bread and really anything else that has to do with dough is something I love to do. I'd be happy to bake for the group or share whatever knowledge I have. If I can keep it alive, I'll be traveling with my sourdough starter that I've been baking with in Nebraska.

    I am no garden expert but I've volunteered on farms, started a garden of my own, and am currently working on getting a garden up and running at an artist residency. I'd be so grateful for any opportunities to gain more knowledge and learn new techniques, tips and tricks. Eating and cooking from a healthy garden is one of the finest things in life, if you ask me.

    I have familiarity and beginner level experience with many power tools used in wood and metal shops, some welding experience, and a comfortability and willingness to learn even more of these skills.

    I am good at organising both spaces and tasks and once you get me started, good luck trying to get me to stop. Although I also love the communal moments of rest whether its a break in the work day, a fire at the end of a week, or a slow morning or movement, coffee, and conversation.

    I can handle myself calmly and peacefully in most all situations and I often think this is a most important skill even when I forget I am doing it. I try my best to think rationally through all life situations, striking balance between myself and others, communicating openly and vulnerably, and feeling what the present moment is showing us. This is the kind of person I strive to be always and I've found experiences traveling and doing workaways to be some of the most valuable (in my entire life) for fostering appreciation for all the good in the world.

    I've got skills I don't even know about yet and I'm excited to figure out what they are.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'm always looking for opportunities to practice and learn Spanish after I spent some time learning in Spain a few years ago. I'm also interested in language exchange or teaching English.

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope :) but I prefer a diet with lots of veggies that makes you feel good

Photos

Feedback