Jennifer

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Nepal, Peru, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/11/2018 - 12/11/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1166

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! Welcome to my profile. My name is Jen Joo.

    A little bit about myself: I’m Korean, born in Brazil, and North American citizen. I’ve been so fortunate to have experienced life in many different pockets of the world such as Brazil, Hawaii, Chicago, Thailand, and Los Angeles. Since October 2018 I took a great leap of faith and decided to become a long term traveler with the intention of connecting with nature, learning how to live off the land, and connect with wonderful beings from all over. Thanks to Workaway and other work/volunteer exchange programs, karma yoga programs, I've had an incredible year of growth and education, having traveled to Northern California, New Mexico, and Mexico. With gratitude and trust, I'm excited to continue this journey of treading the unknown.



    I have an immense appreciation for art (all forms), music, tattoo, wildlife, stand up comedy, storytelling, podcasts, swimming, meditation, mindful living, going into silence, learning from nature. I’m hands down a cat lady but do not discriminate when it comes to my love for animals. I can be slightly reserved at first due to my introvert nature, but in due time I'll warm up and you'll find that I’m very open, easy to be around, pretty goofy, and warm. My choice of religion is stand up comedy (just to be clear, I am not a stand up comedian). I'm an Egalitarian. I do my best to come from a place of transparency, acceptance, non-judgment, compassion, and willingness to understand and listen—and really, really appreciate being around those that share similar values.

    Thanks so much for taking the time to read! Look forward to connecting with you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Professionally multifaceted experience ranging from food & beverage, hospitality, to sales, and special education.

    I'm *extremely* detail oriented, very organized, thorough, and tidy. I've got a natural sensibility for design, color, fashion, and feng shui. I also like to be outdoors and get my hands dirty. I’ve got excellent invasive plant pulling skills, pretty decent caulker, and can sand twigs into perfect daggers. I’m a quick learner. I very much enjoy using my hands to build and make things, and am willing/wanting to learn how to do carpentry (if one is willing to teach).
    I worked at a hostel in Bangkok. I was an AirBnb host for my apartment in Hawaii. I was the manager of a busy local Italian cafe/restaurant for a few years. Managed a boutique in downtown Honolulu. I was a server for nearly a decade. I'm good with people and am an intrinsic nurturer. In between all of these experiences, I've worked with special needs children in Sao Paulo, Honolulu, and Bangkok.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian)

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    USA & BRAZIL

  • What else ...

    I can type 120/WPM
    Professional cat and dog sitter
    Scarf knitter
    Superb organizational skills

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Scallops and any drug that contains Sulfa

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Bangkok, Thailand 2016
Brother and I
Spirit sisters Mazunte, Mexico 2019
Workaway friends! Santa Fe, New Mexico 2019
First time shaving my head 2018
Forever cat lady
Ohana
Antelope Island State Park, Utah 2018
Bagan, Myanmar 2016

Feedback