Jem & Maud

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/06/2019 - 15/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi!

    We are Jem and Maud, a couple from Belgium, and we're coming to Canada! Our plan for the next years is to explore the world, meet new people, learn new skills and experience new things: in general, broadening our horizon :)

    Jem is an enthousiastic, passionate optimist, who likes to challenge himself. He loves finding creative solutions for problems and is often eager to tackle special, slightly more risk-taking/unusual jobs.

    Maud is a caring person, quick to laugh, passionate but with a soothing/relaxed/calming presence. She has an eye for detail and a heart for people, and loves to create and design.

    We both find humour pretty important and don't take ourselves too seriously (Sillyness guaranteed). That being said, we are hard workers and can be serious when necessary. Both of us are very eager to learn new skills and can work/keep busy without supervision.

    Travel:

    Both of us love travelling. Jem has been travelling long-term on and off, and has been to New Zealand, Thailand, Sweden, Peru, Bolivia & Ecuador.
    Maud only recently had the opportunity to start travelling, but spent some time in Australia and absolutely loved it.

    Studies/work:

    -Jem studied languages & literature at university, and has a master in business communications. He has worked a variety of jobs in wildly varying sectors such as a zoo, a swimming pool, a bank and a market research company. He also works as the head instructor of his own martial art school and as a freelance fire artist.

    -Maud studied biology and has a nursing degree. She has work experience as a community health nurse and has worked in a university hospital.

    Shared interests

    We are both very active and love to move! We have a wide array of interests and passions, including but not limited to yoga, dance, acrobacy, martial arts, power training, calisthenics, archery, etc.

    Jem is a true martial arts fanatic and stunt/fire performer. He also wants to learn more about (bow)hunting and has some basic skills (and a big interest!) in blacksmithing, wood and leatherwork.

    We are also both quite creative and like to draw, carve wood, and craft a variety of things. In addition, Maud loves photography and general arts and crafts, and experiments with make-up (theatrical/costume), cooking and baking.

    We both love nature, animals and being outdoors, and are definitely not afraid to get our hands (or faces) dirty. It would be awesome for somone to teach us more on survival and bushcraft skills.

    Maud is also interested in learning more about plants and herbs and their uses, and other skills regarding cooking, conserving and preparing food.

    We are both avid readers and music lovers. Jem plays the piano and we both play the guitar badly. We also like boardgames, and D&D ( Jem recently experimented as a DM).

    We're very much looking forward to volunteering in Canada!

    If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask us :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Jem has worked in a wide range of different sectors, including farms, a zoo, a bank, a research company, a wildlife rescue center, and much more. He's versatile and adapts easily. He's a performer and instructor at heart, not afraid to take the lead when appropriate and interacting with large groups of people. He enjoys hard physical labour, and has some experience building and creating things, and finding creative solutions to problems.
    Maud is a certified (social) nurse in Belgium and has worked in different departments (elderly care, psychiatry, community health, chronic and acute hospital care). She's also a biologist, mainly interested in marine biology and general ecology, but does not work in it at the moment, so it's more like a hobby today. She's good with her hands, quick to learn and good with both people and animals.

  • Languages spoken

    We both speak Dutch, English, basic French and a bit of German. Jem also speaks Spanish.

  • Age

    29 & 28

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    Maud is pretty small. (like...1m 54)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Maud is allergic to NSAIDS (a type of painkiller)

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback