John

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/04/2020 - 16/04/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello all,
    My name is John and I am originally from California. I have traveled extensively during my life, having visited more than 25 countries. I always enjoyed my traveling experiences the most when I was able to visit friends who lived in the countries I was visiting, therefore gaining a local perspective on the areas I travelled to. I was incredibly excited when I found out that workaway offers a similar opportunity to get to know local cultures!!

    In my younger days, I managed a British pub in my home city. More recently I was employed in the private security industry. I have a bachelor's degree in journalism, although I never worked professionally in that field.
    Because I have traveled so extensively, I am quite adept at managing to communicate with individuals who speak little or no English, especially if they speak one of the other languages I have some familiarity with.

    My first 3 workaways in 2016 were fantastic!! I spent 3 months on farms in Europe doing things which I would not have been able to experience otherwise, and I really enjoyed the company of my hosts and fellow workawayers. I continued with my workaway adventure in 2017, and have now participated in 7 different projects. I'm happy to provide you with the workaway link to any of my previous hosts if you'd like to contact them in reference to my character or skill set.

    I'm very interested in developing knowledge of the principles of eco-building, permaculture and sustainable living. I also adore being around creative types and people who generally have a different/new way of thinking, so I hope to find a place where I can be in a community of like-minded individuals. For me, the type of work I'm doing is less important than the environment and spirit related to the project.

    I look forward to some more rewarding experiences through workaway, please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've worked in diverse jobs such as: delivery driver, customer service, bartender, bar & restaurant manager and corporate security. While completing my bachelor's degree in journalism I was the managing editor of the campus newspaper and had a weekly radio show.
    -Guest service/Hospitality
    -Writing
    -Editing
    -Social media
    -Language practice
    -Gardening
    -Tree trimming
    -Painting
    -Laying tile
    -Fence building
    -General housekeeping
    -Cooking

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    USA/Portugal

  • What else ...

    I am finally ready to continue my workaway adventure, and I hope to have many more happy experiences traveling and volunteering in 2020!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Yes

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Nieces and nephew, my favorite people on the planet.
Last day at my Taipei workaway, March 2017.
First ever workaway! Italy, October 2016.

Feedback