Jeremy

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm keen to do whatever I can to protect our beautiful planet - anything from cooking eco-friendly recipes, to sustainable farming, and teaching young people about the environment. Recently I finished a master's degree in climate change, and I'm now ready for an adventure of putting that learning into practice ! I'm also a spiritual person , practicing nature-based meditation, and curious to listen to what others believe about the philosophy of true happiness.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Drawing & painting
    Movies & TV
    Politics / Social justice
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    When I lived in Ipswich I enjoyed being a member of a community supported agriculture project called the Oak Tree Low Carbon Farm (2015-2019). In return for the veg boxes, I chipped in with tasks like planting potatoes, weeding leek beds, and contributed to a successful crowdfunding campaign. Back in 2011 I was part of the Lower Mole Countryside Management Project in Surrey. Among other tasks, this involved coppicing trees, and building wooden walkways.

    As well as cooking, and cleaning, I can also help with creative tasks - because in my day job I'm a comic book producer ! It's superhero story partly aimed at kids, so if you have any children I'd be happy to use the book to teach them about about ecological issues.

    On a more spiritual level, I'd be happy to share what I've learnt about nature-based meditation. E.g. being mindful of the sounds, smells, sights, and even the flavours, of woodlands and other natural environments. I'm not an expert, but I have been inspired by my friend who's doing training in 'forest bathing', which is essentially the same thing.

    Or if you're into learning French, I'm happy to help you practice - applying experience from the many summers I've spent there.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    As well as sharing my passion for creativity, I'd love to learn more about how cultivating healthy soil can produce nutritious food, enhance biodiversity, and store carbon. I'm also fascinated by politics, psychology, philosophy, and spirituality. I love a good comedy film as well !

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm trying to eat more vegan food, but I'm generally very flexible

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback