Jeanne

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Greetings, and welcome to my site! My goal is to find a Workaway opportunity where I can be useful, put my experience to work, learn new skills, meet people with diverse backgrounds, and have fun in the process! I am healthy and active, like to spend time outdoors in fresh air and sunlight; daily speed walk and stretch; love to eat seasonal foods and enjoy an occasional glass of wine; enjoy music, especially classical music. I tend toward a holistic lifestyle, try to eat organic produce when available, and spend time outdoors with my 2 cats and care for my small flower and vegetable garden.

    Because I am fully retired from work, it is possible I could be available for a longer term position. The summer of 2019 I completed a Workaway post in Tuscany at the Villa Corliano located near Pisa and Lucca, mid-May to mid-July. Due to Covid and travel restrictions, I was unable to perform a Workaway post in 2020.

    In 2016 my husband passed away after a long illness. He was from northern Italy and together we spent many summer vacations in Italy and France. We often visited Liguria, the lake regions, and Friuli and Venice where his family live. In addition, we regularly traveled to Nice, St. Paul de Vence, and Cap d'Ail in France. Croatia, Slovenia, Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands were among our travel destinations.

    For most of my career I worked as a human resource manager and administrator, both in Boston, Massachusetts and in Pennsylvania. In addition, I have some experience in the hospitality industry on Martha's Vineyard Island, Massachusetts. First, in a seasonal position at The Charlotte Inn, a 4 star inn with restaurant -- at reception desk I greeted guests, processed check-in and check-out, provided information, answered questions. The following year, I worked a year-round position as Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Harbor View Hotel and Kelley House resort.

    For 14 years my husband and I lived in Massachusetts on Martha's Vineyard Island and later in Boston. We then moved to the countryside in Pennsylvania where we resided for 20 years. While living there I enjoyed caring for our vegetable and flower gardens in the summer, cut the grass, painted the wooden fence, trimmed the trees and bushes, and helped carry cut wood into the house for the wood stove in winters.

    Raised in the countryside in Pennsylvania with 3 sisters and 1 brother, I worked in the family garden and helped care for our animals -- dogs, cats, chickens, a horse and a sheep. After completing high school, I attended Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey for 2 years where I studied classical music. Later I completed my college degree at Pennsylvania State University in the humanities/journalism. In addition, I attended London School of Economics for post-graduate study, lived in London for a year and interacted with students from around the world.

    I trust my background information will help you determine if my skills and prior experiences are compatible with your needs. Let me know if I can provide you additional information or answer any questions. I look forward to hearing from you and helping you with your projects!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Writing
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    History
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    House sitting/caretaker, general property maintenance and upkeep. Garden work; love animals and caring for them. Administration, hospitality, projects management, writing, typist, use computer, general office duties.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    70

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback