Jacob & Julie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2018 - 30/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1402

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, we are Jacob and Julie!

    We are a couple who met at university in England in 2015 (though Julie is from Utah, USA). We've now graduated and are travelling around this year before Julie goes back to studying Anthropology and Jacob finds some kind of climate science job.

    We've both done workaways in the past and now 3 together!

    About Jacob: I'm keen to broaden my horizons a bit, and happy to throw myself into almost any kind of workaway volunteer work. I love being immersed within and making new friends in cultures I haven't experienced before. I'd consider myself to be fairly adventurous - I've done an internship at an Indian research base that hadn't hosted a foreign student before, helped Julie with her anthropological research in rural Kenya. I've also studied abroad for a year (in Canada) and done workaway stays in Costa Rica so I'm adaptable to very different working conditions! I'm passionate about lots of different things: mechanics, photography, music, any kind of outdoorsy activity, meditation. I'm always open to learning about new types of work!

    About Julie: I really love the immersive experience of working while traveling and spending longer in a place in order to really get to know people and the surroundings. I love a good conversation and joking around with new people. Jacob and I love to swap stories with people we meet over food or a drive. I love kids, cooking, languages, jogging, yoga, being in the water, reading, music, art and trying new things. I love the feeling of tough physical labour and am stronger than you might think! I've worked in a lot of contexts (volunteering or paid) construction, painting, writing/editing, babysitting, performance instruction for kids, social support, research, technical support, business start-ups.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Jacob: Friendly & open personality, Basic/Intermediate vehicle maintenance (I really like working on cars), Customer service (I've worked as a waiter), Electronics (repair/ service), Car and Motorcycle licence, Videography/Photography

    Julie: Welcoming and cheerful personality. Also some basic mechanical skill, customer service, construction and agricultural work (I grew up taking care of an orchard and on build-sites with my family who are largely in construction). Some background in hospitality running my Airbnb and working at a hostel. I am trained as an Anthropologist and have decent Spanish language skills. I am able as an instructor and tutor and have experience researching and working on development projects -sustainable coffee farming, co-ops, brick/ clay making. I am great with children having cared for my younger siblings and worked as a babysitter a number of times.

    I have sold a few paintings (acrylic) and enjoy interior/landscape design and mural painting. I have restaurant experience and love to cook international dishes and serve people. I am happy to play music and sing and do yoga with whoever I work with.

  • Languages spoken

    English and Conversational French & Spanish, some Portuguese. (Julie speaks good Spanish and basic French and a little Portuguese. Jacob speaks mediocre French and basic Spanish)

  • Age

    25 & 27

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (if possible/ convenient)

Photos

Feedback