Jamie

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/04/2018 - 10/01/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1066

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello Workaway hosts!
    I am an English teacher living and working in Málaga, Spain and I am looking to get out of the city and into nature during my Christmas vacation.

    Some skills that I can bring to my stay with you include cooking (also experienced in vegan and vegetarian cooking), teaching english, painting and some art projects, help with eco projects and gardening. I love getting my hands dirty and working hard. Something I would be interested in would be helping out on your farm! I have a garden at my house where we grow vegetables and herbs. I have experience with workaway in the past. Some of my tasks included: caring for animals (horses, dogs, cats, goats, pigs, chickens), creating irrigation systems, horse manure compost maintenance, cooking, creating vegetable garden beds, clearing brush, painting, and more! I would be very happy to be away from the city for a bit during my time off. I know a bit about home repairs (ripping up carpet, painting, using tools, and more!). This summer I renovated some areas of my house. I put up new window fixtures, tore up the carpet and painted the room. I am feeling pretty handy with a drill and a hammer but I would love to learn more! Aside from all of these skills that I can already bring to the table, I am a really fast learner! I love to learn new skills and can easily adapt to different environments!

    My reason for traveling during this short stay will be to get away from all of the "noise" of all the negativity in the news and just experience some peace. I would love to get away and challenge my mind to something new without all the disruptions and distractions. My ideal situation would be to work on a farm or eco project outside of the city of Málaga. I would love to form a close relationship with my host where if I was in need of some time out of the city, I could come back and visit them for holidays or puentes. Also, I am always looking for ways to practice and improve my Spanish!

    I would like to spend some time outdoors, connecting with nature and also spend time with the hosts, going on walks, cooking, relaxing in our free time, and enjoying the more simple things in life. If I sound like a good fit for you, please contact me!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a garden and would love to help with your garden or farm. I enjoy cooking and doing house work and chores such as grocery shopping, cleaning, and laundry. I have experience with painting, clearing land, basic maintenance skills, exct. I have some farm experience and love working with animals! My first language is English and I would love to help you with yours!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I love to travel far and often. I enjoy reading, hiking, traveling, exercising, being outdoors, cooking, playing with my dog, and meeting new people. I lived in Pais Vasco last year and have lived in Catalonia previously. This will be my first time living in Andalucía and I am very excited for some southern hospitality!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback