Johanna

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/07/2019 - 10/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    HI, I'm Johanna, 25 y/o. I live in Ghent, Belgium and work for a small start-up as a sustainability consultant in Brussels, giving advice on sustainability to organisations. I'm very interested in living more sustainably myself, and have been making changes to my own lifestyle in the past couple of years to evolve in that direction. Last summer, a co-worker told me about Workaway and how she has been working on a farm every summer. I immediately thought: I want to do that! I'm a very open-minded person, always interested in other people and cultures. I really enjoy cooking (vegetarian), especially using home-grown vegetables.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I started a small vegetable garden in my mum's city garden about three years ago. I couldn't believe how much satisfaction growing my own produce gave me! There was already a large difference in the amount of vegetables I got between the first and second summer, and there is still so much to learn. Therefore, I would love to work on a farm for two weeks and learn about organic farming, permaculture and keeping animals. I will still need some guidance, but I pick skills up quickly and I'm very eager to learn. I can aldo help with building and animals and I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty.

  • Languages spoken

    My native tongue is Dutch (Flemish accent), my English and French are really good and I spent six months in Berlin so I have a basic knowledge of German. Always happy to learn more!

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    As I only recently made this account, I have no references. However, I have couchsurfed a bit in the past couple of years, so I would like to refer you to my couchsurfing profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/johanna-haerens

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not that I know of

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian and I'm interested in learning more about vegan cooking

Photos

May 2016: the first vegetable I ever grew. Not really impressive produce, but I was still very proud.
My little vegetable garden in my mum's city garden in Ghent
March 2017. A snowy Bryce Canyon National Park, UT, USA
April 2017. Couchsurfing at Shaw Island, WA, USA
March 2017. Camping in at El Capital State Beach, CA, USA

Feedback