Jaiden

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Italy, Malta

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/12/2019 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Jaid.
    I am an energetic, positive and hard working young woman who has been solo traveling in Europe and Africa since May 2019. I grew up in America, specifically a small farm town in Massachusetts where I spent most of my time exploring nature with my three older brothers. I am an artsy type, taking a break before continuing my studies in travel journalism with a minor in sustainable fashion for travel. Ever since I was a small child, I knew that I wanted to see all of the beauty this world has to offer- from people, to places, language, culture, experience. My vision has been to expand my worldview and in doing so spread the love and understanding I have gained thus far. One of my favorite travel experiences has been wwoofing on an orange grove in the Algarve (Southern Portugal). From gardening, picking oranges, to giving kayak tours- each day left me feeling like I had a purpose. My vision of travel has never been to go to a place, stay in a hotel and frequent the tourist attractions. I signed up for Work Away because I want to really know a place- to be a part of something meaningful, give back to the community, and in turn gain perspective and the fruits of hard work. English is my native language, though I can also communicate in french.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    As I mentioned, english is my native language and I have expertise in written english, which I would be happy to share. I recently learned french from au pairing for a few months in Le Mans, France. I am great with children. I grew up on a small farm with chickens and geese, so I am used to caring for these types of animals and good with garden work. I went to university in new york for a year, but am taking this time off to travel, so I can offer knowledge from things like art and architecture to literature. Though I am a smaller woman, I am much stronger than I look. I am never afraid to get dirty and work hard. I learn quickly and am sure that if I am not already capable of a skill you desire, I would be able to learn quickly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    My hobbies include: running, soccer, yoga and really anything that involves sport, movement and getting active!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback