Jack

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/10/2019 - 14/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I graduated from university in 2018 with a degree in Philosophy and after spending a year working in education, I travelled to India for 6 months. During this time I came to realise that, after having spent so much of my life studying in a classroom, I now have a strong desire to learn to work with my hands and with the land. To this end, I took a Permaculture Design Course and worked on a natural build whilst I was in India. Sadly, this trip was cut short by Covid-19, but my desire to explore manual skills has remained, so I am now looking for opportunities closer to home.

    I am interested in learning new things in any work that I do, and am generally motivated and inspired by new experiences. I have a particular desire to learn skills that would enable me to live self-sufficiently/off-grid. I'm a hard worker, but I also like to socialise, and getting to know people is one of life's great joys for me. I love to travel and in addition to my trip to India, I have travelled extensively in Latin America.

    In my spare time I love cooking, walking, and reading. Recently I have been exploring Eastern philosophy in order to learn more about yoga, which I practice daily, and its origins.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked for 5 years as a tutor, so I am used to working with children, and to teaching a wide range of subjects. I also have a diploma in vegan cooking, and love to cook; I also have a Permaculture Design Certification, and am very interested in working with the land and on farms. I've taken photographs for a number of locations that have been used in promotional material, and have spent time painting and decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No meat or dairy

Feedback