Jack

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, Japan, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Taiwan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 01/07/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey, my name is Jack and I’m from England! I’m a very sociable and confident person who is very open-minded and adventurous! I am hoping to see as much of the world as possible and make some great friends along the way!
    I'm an energetic and positive person who is passionate about meeting new people, learning new languages and of course, seeing the world!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Sports and Leadership:

    I'm an active person who is passionate about keeping fit and living an active lifestyle. I became a NPLQ qualified Lifeguard at the age of 16, a position that taught me to become hardworking whilst also allowing me to develop my leadership skills and self-confidence. During my years at university, I was on the university Athletics team and held the position of 'Social Secretary' on the Athletics team board. This role meant that I not only participated in athletics events, but also organised social gathering and events to strengthen team bonding.

    Teaching:

    I'm currently teaching English in China to elementary school students age 7 - 12 , but plan on travelling in Asia during the long summer vacation.
    Previously, I have taught swimming to children and adults of all ages during my time as a lifeguard!
    Also, I have taught adult classes in English to Japanese adults during my time living in Japan.

    Media:

    I have experience working for an online magazine as an administrator where I learned how to make websites and logos as well as how to create and design flyers, brochures, menus etc.
    I'm also up-to-date with social media, both personally and professionally, and have created various professional websites and social media accounts for friends and projects in the past.

    Hospitality:

    I have worked as a bartender in more than 4 bars in the UK and in Japan. In three of these positions, I also was a waiter serving food to customers. I have no problem working in busy/loud environments regardless of the time of day/night!
    I have also worked in a coffee shop, where I was trained in making coffees and serving food to a variety of customers.

    Child care:

    Further to teaching english in an elementary school and teaching swimming, I also worked in a Summer Camp in the USA for a total of 3 summers. This involved me spending time and looking after children aged 5 - 10 all day each day for six days a week! It was exhausting but a great experience!

    First Aid:

    Having spent upwards of three years as a lifeguard, I am competent with basic first aid as well as in-water rescue and CPR.

    Languages:

    I graduated university in England in July 2018 with a degree in Modern Languages; majoring in Japanese and Spanish Language. During my time at university I also undertook basic German classes as well as Korean for beginners.
    During my time as an exchange student in Tokyo, Japan, I undertook classes in beginner's French (which was very challenging as the class was taught in complete Japanese language!).
    Living and working in China has given me the opportunity to learn basic Mandarin, which is proving useful in daily life as well as with the personal studies of Japanese due to the similarity in characters across the languages.
    Working as a lifeguard, I also undertook some classes in British Sign Language, however as this was long ago, I think I will be a bit rusty!

    Other:

    I'm very passionate about the environment and educating people on environmental issues. Having also previously worked at a veterinary practice, I have some experience in animal care and animal handling.

  • Languages spoken

    English (Native), Japanese (Advanced), Spanish (Advanced), German (Basic), Mandarin (Basic), French (Beginner)

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    United Kingdom

  • What else ...

    In terms of hobbies, I love spending time in both the city and the country. Nothing is better than getting a coffee with friends in a skyscraper on a Friday, then hiking a mountain on a Saturday!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

Hannahgarb


Photos

Jiashan Elementary School, Shanghai - 03/2019
Hudson River, New York - 07/2018
Quintana Roo, Mexico - 08/2018

Feedback