Isabelle

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2021 - 14/08/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi my name is Isabelle :) and I’m currently working towards getting my Teacher’s Diploma, to become an English High School teacher here in Switzerland. In order for me to accomplish this dream I need to work/live for 2 more month in an Anglophone country. I’ve already travelled and worked through workaway last year, where I stayed for 2 months with a lovely English family who was living in Wales.

    I’m a friendly, very responsible and organized person and love being with people. I’m pretty open to any work situation; I enjoy cleaning and cooking and love all animals. My love for animals in fact led me to become vegan many years ago. I come from the Italian speaking part of Switzerland, so my native language is Italian but I've learnt German and French as well as these are our national languages. I have studied English Literature for many years and speak English fluently.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a fun personality and love making people laugh, hence I’d say that as long as I am surrounded by people (or animals) I do my very best in any activity. As mentioned, in Switzerland I am working towards becoming an English teacher and I have taught English to High School students both in the Italian speaking part of Switzerland as well as in the German part. I also taught German and English at a summer school in the Swiss Alps.
    Moreover, I've worked for many years at the Locarno Film Festival in Switzerland in the organisational department, where I organised artists' daily schedules, events and catering, helped the marketing team as well as the daily newsletter.
    I've volunteered in a Retirement home and while I'm not really knowledgeable about gardening, I’m not scared to get my hands dirty and spend time outside. With some guidance I’m up for any challenge :)

    Last year I’ve helped an English family with cleaning, cooking, dog walking, childcare and other household chores :)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    Given that my school requires a proof of my stay abroad I would ask you (the host) to sign an agreement between us two (at the very end of my stay), which simply states that I was living/working with you from xx until xx.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I’m vegan

Photos

Feedback