Isabella

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Bella, 24, I grew up by the beach in Southern California. Two years ago I completed my undergrad studies in General Liberal Arts of all things (studied the original works of Socrates, Aristotle, Einstein, etc.) at a tiny little college in the hills of Ojai. It was there that I finally got to dip my toes in the outdoors!

    From there I started camping, hiking, solo-exploring, did some backpacking trips in the Appalachian Mountains in North Carolina, spent several summers in Wisconsin surrounded by kids and cows, ran around barefoot a lot, got interested in living a life centered in dirt and locally grown food!

    There's still so much I want to learn—I would like to get more experience hunting/harvesting/foraging for my own food (fishing, spearfishing, hunting, etc.), more general experience and familiarity with living outdoors. I'd also like to learn more about alternative bodywork therapies and basic carpentry.

    I'm taking this time to cross off participating in workaways from my bucket list. My hope is that through workaway I can meet likeminded people and learn from them. When Spring rolls around I would like to be enrolling in classes as I figure out my future. I have a healthy appreciation for both Eastern and Western medicine, and would like to find a way to integrate both in my future career.

    Other than that, I suppose I forgot to mention that I'm a triplet!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I practically grew up in my family's Chinese restaurant. Some of my earliest memories are cooking multi-course meals with my sisters and family! After college I worked for a short time at a traditional Japanese restaurant as a prep cook. I also did a short (COVID-interrupted) stint at a winery in Oregon. I learned a lot about wine mostly because I drank it for 5 months straight. I've been honing my dumpling making abilities in the hopes that, should I need to impress or make last minute Christmas gifts, I always have something to fall back on.

    I worked on the landscaping crew for two years at my college, mostly taking care of roses and pulling lots of weeds. Other than that, I've grown a few tiny vegetables in my backyard.

    Writing and editing come easily to me. I've recently been honing my marketing/content writing skills and have been helping a family friend start up a new business.

    I am hardworking, inquisitive, creative, a quick learner, over the years I have become my family's go-to masseuse.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I love games, meeting new people, hearing and telling stories, laughing, dancing, and adventuring!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      For the most part, no, but I try to eat organic, local, etc. when possible

Photos

Feedback