Immy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 02/08/2022

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there!
    My name is Immy and I am 20 years old. I am currently a student at Newcastle University in the UK, and I am studying English Literature and French!
    I would love to join and work with French speaking people / in a French speaking family this summer during the months of July and August, to experience living and working abroad, and to also enhance my French language skills.
    I have done lots of babysitting before, and also have good experience working with children. This is due to working as a ski instructor during the winter season last year, in the Swiss ski resort of Verbier. I taught children from the age of 2 up to the age of 15!
    I love the outdoors, and live in the British countryside when not at uni, and although I love cities and city life- the countryside is my home & I love being around nature and animals. When i was younger, I went on holiday every year with my family to the South of France (within the Dordogne region & Beziers in the Occatine region). I love these areas of countryside but would also love to explore more of Provence too, as i have visited cities such as Nice and Cannes, but i am yet to visit the beautiful countryside of the area.
    I also love the French way of life and I really enjoying learning about the different social customs, and how they vary from region to region!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    As i previously mentioned, i spent 5 months working as a ski instructor in the Swiss ski resort of Verbier. I loved this because i really enjoyed teaching kids and obviously this was all while i was doing a sport and activity i love- skiing! These 5 months taught me invaluable skills in communication and professionalism, as i was working alongside people a lot older than me and had to deal with professional and sometimes complicated situations with clients. Also, i will get stuck into any tasks that come my way, be it around the house or perhaps to do with looking after children- although i do have to admit, cooking to a high standard isn’t my strong suit, but i am ready to learn and will learn before i arrive if need be!!
    As i said before, i study French at university, however my spoken French is a little rusty and i am not so confident when i try and speak French to others, which i why i want to work and live in France this summer. However i am a hard worker so with practice everyday (i will try and speak French to you as much as possible) i’m sure my speaking will have improved a lot- so this could be helpful for you!
    I also love working in the garden and around the house, and i am currently redecorating and doing some building at my own house (where i live with my family) in the UK! I am passionate and hardworking when it comes to projects like this, and i love getting stuck in.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    20

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I’ll eat anything!

Photos

Feedback