Hollie & THomas

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 30/04/2018

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a young professional couple who have left successful city careers (in banking and sports media) in London to become our own bosses managing a successful guesthouse in Tortuguero, located on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica.
    We are a compassionate, motivated, hard-working, fun-loving and easy going couple. Our background in London of charity event management and a desire to be taken outside of our comfort zones started us on this journey. This has since allowed us to travel the world, joining various voluntary projects before embarking on our new careers.
    Our current work in Tortuguero includes but is not limited to; handling all finances and accounting, offering excellent customer service in Spanish and English, taking and managing bookings via different platforms, controlling the social media accounts, organising tours and transport, dealing with the cleaning staff, tradesmen and local businesses. Throughout these experiences we have taken on art, décor and DIY projects as well as gardening, harvesting and preparing home-cooked meals for guests. We take an active role within the local community, promoting recycling, animal welfare and fund-raising for local projects. In addition we are promoting and selling a range of natural, organic repellents and coconut oil products, especially important here living next door the national park.
    We have also taken the opportunity to host our own workawayers, something we have always wanted to do and a fantastic way to enrich our time here.
    In our previous careers we have both worked customer facing roles and led teams but we are equally happy working on our own. In our private time we love to cook and experiment with different foods especially home grown. We love sports, literature, film, music, and we are starting to learn yoga and meditation.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Hotel/Hostel management &responsibilities

    Customer facing interpersonal & sales skills

    Computer literate – financial, excel, word, photoshop, booking.com (pulse), hostelworld, airbnb, etc…

    Social Media – experience running facebook pages/events plus twitter, instagram, trip adviser etc…

    Languages - Tom lived in Spain for 2 years and speaks very good Spanish and Hollie is currently learning here in Costa Rica

    House-sitting, animals, farming, gardening, carpentry, DIY, cooking

    TEFL, guitar, dj, music, sports

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    34 & 38

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We have a keen interest in health, nutrition, sustainability, self-sufficiency and green awareness

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback