Meredith

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Chile, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Peru, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/11/2018 - 20/11/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    My name’s Meredith and I’m from the UK! I'd describe myself as someone with an absolute passion and zest for life. My greatest happiness comes from exploring beautiful places of nature (through walks, hikes and cycling rides), helping those around me, investing time in creative projects, devoting time to activities, such as reading, which help me to learn more about the world and myself, and spending time with loved ones.
    I graduated from university last July, where I gained a '2.1' in a BSC 'Politics and Social Policy'. Politics and humanitarian issues in general are a huge passion of mine which I intend to pursue in the future through NGO work, in the realms of human rights and sustainable development. From the age of 14 I’ve been involved in a multitude of local and charitable campaigns which I think have provided me with vital experience for my future endeavours in this area.
    Four years ago I became vice-chair of the ‘West Somerset Group for Intercultural Understanding’ an organisation whose aim was to reduce the isolation experienced by a number of members of my local community and to facilitate their integration. As part of this organisation I helped to run a number of fundraising events, including concerts consisting of voluntary musicians, such as the ‘24 hour music marathon’ in which we raised money for ‘Hand in Hand with Syria’ and ‘Unicef’, as well as days dedicated to learning art skills. The funds we raised went towards the development of a welcome leaflet in our town in at least 5 different languages, as a friendly gesture to newcomers. We also put on a ‘Festival of Inter-cultural Food and Music’ in our town.
    In addition, during my time at university, I worked with a political group ‘Stand up to Racism’ in order to raise humanitarian funds for the Calais refugee camp, which involved securing volunteers to join our aid delivering convoy to the island.
    As a volunteer for the Watchet Kids Festival and Watchet Music Festival, over a period of 4 years, I planned and ran creative workshops; in which I taught fairy-wing and jewellery making for children, as well as organising a team of 4-5 people to keep the workshops running smoothly throughout the days.
    At the age of 14 I became the youth representative and a committee member of a campaign to save Watchet Library (based in my town) when it faced closure by the county council. This campaign included attendance at regular meetings where strategies were formulated in order to garner public support, as well as ultimately contributing to a reversal of the closure through legal action.
    I’m currently employed as a Support Worker in a residential home where I assist individuals to meet their daily needs in terms of sustenance etc., as well as supporting a growth in independent living where possible. I’m currently working towards my care certificate, which involves completion of a number of diplomas, such as Basic Life Support, and observation of my practical skills. I love my job, as my successes within it bring me infinite joy and fulfilment.
    Since the age of 14 I’ve also been babysitting (working with young children); accordingly I love and welcome work within the realms of care.
    Aside from this, most of my jobs, which I have had during my time in education, have consisted of customer service roles; waitressing and bar work.
    I have a huge interest in the arts, with a particular passion for music and poetry. I play a bit of guitar and piano, learning songs I know or writing my own. I also regularly write poetry, as a way to express and process my feelings on subjects ranging from nature to daily emotional experiences.
    Apart from these activities, I enjoy hiking, cooking, yoga, swimming, meditation, kayaking and writing my travel journal.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Word and data processing and analysis through achievement of a Social Policy and Politics degree,
    Broad research skills,
    Ability to write to a degree level standard and produce written reports,
    Grounding in principles of law (achieved A level UK academic standard),
    Good interpersonal and team working skills,
    Working with vulnerable people and those with challenging behaviour,
    Empowering people with learning disabilities to complete activities of daily living,
    Emotional counselling of those with learning disabilities and a range of complex psychological and physical needs through my role as support worker,
    Supporting and encouraging healthy eating through dietary needs and requirements,
    Basic Life support,
    Good general command of IT skills,
    Ability to work with young children,
    Rudimentary Spanish (have recently started learning),
    Ability to play the piano and guitar (used as a therapeutic and learning tool throughout my role as Support Worker).

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegan but would be prepared to be a vegetarian if this diet is not possible practically while I travel.

Profile is connected to:

Samscibetta

lgoddard96


Photos

Feedback