Héloise

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/03/2020 - 05/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello !
    My name is Héloïse.
    I was a primary school teacher for some years, so I am used to work with children but I am interested in various things, such as language and cultural exhanges, litterature, history, art, astronomy, photography and so on.
    I decided to change my job and now I work with asylum seekers in the French Office of Immigration. This new job made me become more patient, thoughtful and understanding because people I work with are sometimes homeless, often a bit lost and they come from countries in war.

    I enjoy outdoor activities, especially hiking and biking. I like swimming too. I practice yoga and sophrology. I'm environmental concerned so I make efforts to reduce my wastes, to eat organic food and to buy only what I really need. I love cooking and making my own soap.
    I like reading novels and documentary books. I wrote novels too. I'm a creative person, that's why I like drawing and painting.

    I love travelling by myself and meeting people from all over the world. I hosted travellers with couchsurfing. I have 61 references on couchsurfing website but as I am almost new on workaway, I just have 2. I like discovering new places and I pay attention on details which shape each place and contribute to its atmosphere. I travelled to some European countries and I spent a year in Nova Scotia (a canadian English-speaking province).
    I am on Workaway because I would like to volunteer around 2-4 weeks in September .
    I am willing to experience other way of life (especially ecological way of living and life closer to the nature) and to deeply be immersed in another environment and in another culture. I am eager to meet new people and to discover other way of thinking, exhanging ideas and opinions.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I was a primary school teacher in France, so I like working with children. Before becoming a teacher, I worked as a baby-sitter and I volunteered with migrant children in France. I also worked as a french teacher for a non-credit course at Saint Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Canada with a group of 10 adults who were beginners.

    Volunteering with migrant children is something really important in my life. I have helped Kovinban, a 10 years old kid who arrived from Sri Lanka for 2 years. When I started with him, he had arrived in France for 2 years. He could speak French but he couldn't read. I did different activities with him such as going to the library, reading books for him, playing board and card games, walking in the forest, visiting museums, painting, modeling clay, cooking. I invented games to explain him french grammar or fractions and decimals. We shared interesting and deep discussions about Big-bang, dinosaures, the universe.

    I also worked during 5 weeks in an organic vegetable farm where I planted seeds, weeded vegetable plots and harvested different types of vegetables and 3 weeks in an organic dairy farm where I milked cows and made yogurts.
    That's why I can help with children, teach french, cook, and work in a garden or in a farm. I also like painting, drawing and writting, so I would be very happy to take part in a artistic project. Anyway, I am eager to acquire new skills and learn from my Workaway experience.

  • Languages spoken

    French (native speaker), English (fluent), a bit of German, a bit of Italian and a bit of Spanish, a bit of Polish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      non

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Isle Madame, Nova Scotia, Canada
February 2014 : Malagawach, Nova Scotia, Canada
Calanques, Marseille, France
Hiking in the Alpes
Salt dough
A choice of desert in playdough. After making them, we played to order in a restaurant in English.
Making a wood table
Painting and decorating our little house with Kovinban
A tiger made by Kovinban

Feedback