Hilary & Colyn

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/05/2019 - 27/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    381

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello there! We are the Burbanks: Colyn (30), Hilary (31) and Nell (1). We are originally from Iowa, in the middle of the United States! We recently (August 2018) moved to Glasgow, Scotland while Colyn is working on a Masters in Social Work and Hilary and Nell are along for the adventure. Colyn's career so far has been focused on counseling and assistance to people struggling with drug and alcohol addiction as well as issues related to homelessness. He's interested to take a step back and looking at systems for social work outside of the U.S. Hilary teaches English and has spent the last 10 years working with refugee families. Back in Iowa she managed Global Greens, a program re-connecting refugees to the land and helping them sell their produce through farmers markets and a CSA. Hilary also studied in Granada, Spain in 2008 and has travelled in Europe. Little Nell loves exploring outside, animals, books and providing lots of silly entertainment. The two of us have lived in intentional communities off and on since 2008 so we value and are used to living with others! We've also spent time working on farms, helping care for goats (including milking and cheese making), chickens (we used to have our own flock) and love dogs, cats and all sorts of animals. Eventually we believe we would like to live in a more rural setting after Colyn finishes school and are interested in learning about life on variety of farms. We are very interested in learning more about different ways people are living in sync with the earth and how to live a more holistic, honoring and healthy lifestyle for body and spirit! We love reading, listening to podcasts, hiking, riding bikes, dabbling on the piano and with fiber arts and cooking delicious food. We are hard working, easy going, reliable and enjoy learning about people's experiences!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We both have worked in social work and have a wide variety of skills relating to accessing community resources, building programs and grant writing (Hilary). We also have experience on farms including: gardening task, caring for goats, chickens (including milking, processing milk from both goats and cows), making butter, making cheese, canning, and processing produce. Hilary has experience managing and working at farmers markets. We are also fine with labor tasks like mowing, cleaning, hauling and general maintenance. We both have general computer skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    33 & 31

  • What else ...

    We searched for places that specifically indicated that they would accept families. We are excited for this as a learning experience for us all, including Nell! She will be 2 in July 2019 so obviously we would need to split our shifts of work between us so one of us can be watching her while the other is working!

    We can also provide references if you'd like!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      We have recently transitioned to a plant based/vegan diet and we generally try to eat as local and organic as possible.

Photos

Feedback