Hayley

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/10/2018 - 27/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    762

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello lovely People of the World!

    I'm saving up to go on the next chapter of my travels, this time to India and South East Asia. I've put up bear fences in Canada, fed peacocks in Castellon, won a chopsticks championship in Poland, plastered walls with cob in France, volunteered at a hostel in Mexico, lived in a van for 3 months, attended squat cabarets in Barcelona, and traveled around Spain and Portugal with a freewheeling circus. I can't wait to see what crazy new adventures await me!

    I'm a very independent 23 year old with itchy feet, a powerful intuition, an open mind and a kind heart. I have trust in the world and the universe to take me to where I need to be. I'm looking for communal living, to push myself physically and mentally, to be closer to nature and other souls, learn a whole lot about myself and from others, and just reclaiming my life from a boring materialist and competitive England! Seeing what life has to offer away from this quaint little island and realizing my full potential! :)

    I finished university (I studied Politics and Sociology in a bid to be a bit less ignorant and engage with my surroundings) a year ago and have been working in youth hostels/restaurants/an office (never again!), saving my butt off to claim some freedom.

    I'd love to input my energy into collective human endeavors and social projects that have strong ethics and a positive purpose. I can't wait to meet you all!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Hostel stuff - I've worked in two hostels in the UK, so know how to take care of guests, know my way round a booking system and how to clean very well (I even know how to get chewing gum out of a carpet/hair!) :)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Proofreading/correcting documents/writing - I'm a big English language nerd and love to correct the grammar/structure in documents (I do it all the time for friends' essays). I also have an online TEFL certificate (but no real-life teaching experience) so I'd love to give teaching a go too!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Cooking - I love to cook, and it's even more fun to cook for big groups! I'm especially interested in broadening my knowledge of vegan/veggie cooking
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Sewing/singing/dancing/hosting parties/making collages and cards/fixing clothes - I'd love to be able to exercise my creative side, and I'm always humming something!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Photography/social media - I love photography, and I'm pretty good at social media. I've managed a big society at university which involved lots of administration work (emails, phone calls, leasing with third parties, organizing events), creating social media content, fundraising, and promoting the society.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Spanish - I lived in Spain for 8 years as a kid, so my understanding of Spanish is great. I can speak it just fine but I'm always looking to expand my vocabulary! I can also do verbal and written translations Spanish- English (and verbally English- Spanish)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Charity work - I did a lot of volunteering with charities at university, from stewarding music festivals with Oxfam, to managing 300 volunteers to help homeless people in my city, to doing 12 hour shifts with a telephone service that helped depressed students
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️Skills I want to learn (not an exhaustive list!) - yoga/meditation, learning about other culinary traditions and cooking, nutrition, astronomy/star gazing, community living, pottery, performance (theatre, poetry, singing), guitar, map reading/orienteering, how to build things with recycled materials, permaculture, vegan cooking, jewellery making, massage therapy, herbal medicine, bushcraft, teaching English as a foreign language

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, a little French

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      N/A

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer to eat vegetarian but I'm not fussy :)

Photos

Helping out on Angloville programs in Poland, helping adults and teenagers with their English conversation skills. (I'm top row, second from the right). January-February 2018
A photo that I'm particularly proud of
In Granada winter 2016
Hitchhiking to Glasgow from Leeds Easter 2015
In Canada, 2016
At Teotihuacan, Mexico
Spring 2016
A card I made
Setting off for Mexico and Canada, June 2016
Tulum, Mexico
Making friends in Mexico August 2016
Making Christmas dinner with my dad and brother 2015 <3

Feedback