Hannah

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm a recent graduate with a degree in Sociology/Anthropology and French studies. I find joy in exploring new cities, learning & teaching languages and spending time in the outdoors. While in college I had the opportunity to do two semesters abroad, one in Arusha, Tanzania and another in Strasbourg, France. I also spent a summer working at a hostel in the Old Port of Montréal, Canada. Living in these places opened my mind to diverse ways of living and allowed me to connect with so many people. I love having conversations that broaden my perspectives on the world and challenge how I experience my identity. I'd really love to use Workaway as a chance to grow my language skills and have cross-cultural exchange. I would love to meet you and share experiences together!

  • Interests

    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked as a nanny, a barista, a hostess at a restaurant, as an English language tutor, at the front desk of a hostel and as a French professor's assistant. My expertise ranges from being able to create lesson plans, handle customer service experiences and do daily house cleaning tasks. At my university, I've also worked alongside a professor for the Teaching Excellence Program to improve their teaching skills and help them create an engaging classroom environment. I am attentive, self-motivated and detail-oriented. My adaptability makes me able to succeed in any situation and I love problem-solving as much as I do working one-one with someone. I look forward to whatever type of opportunity comes my way and believe my diverse skillset makes me helpful in whatever way you need it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Having studied French for 8 years I have a deep appreciation for the language and feel very confident speaking it both in casual conversation and academic settings. I would love to teach English to native French speakers and understand effective ways of walking through the steps of doing so. In addition to French, I speak basic Swahili and Spanish having taken a semester of both languages while in college. I would love to continue growing my knowledge of these and the chance to meet someone who could help me do that would be fantastic.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I love to go on hikes, do yoga, cycle, rock climb and practice naturalhorsemanship. The chance to be active while doing Workaway would be great! I also like trying out new activities and recently have enjoyed flower pressing and hammocking. Introduce me to something new! I'd love to try it out.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback