Anne

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Jordan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/07/2018 - 01/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    932

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi all! I am engineer from the United States who is currently studying Arabic in Amman, Jordan. My career is in sustainability and renewable energy engineering. That being said, after studying abroad in Peru, backpacking through India, learning about the education system in Denmark and now studying in Jordan, I have loved seeing how people around the world approach problems uniquely. I have always worked for larger engineering companies and in the coming year I am hoping to divert away from that career path slightly to explore how NGOs, small businesses and start-ups enact change and the keys to making them function successfully. I want to learn more about local economies, language learning, political science, permeaculture and sustainable construction, to name a few areas :)

    A little about me personally... I love getting up early in the mornings, spending time outside and trying all the local foods. I enjoy being active, whether that is playing organized sports, going for a run, biking or hiking. I love exploring my surrounding area and learning about its culture and history. I am a direct communicator who values honest, open communication. I am organized, driven and independent. I am interested in learning languages and would love to be part of a language exchange. I am excited to get to know you and contribute to your projects!!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Most generally, I am capable of, and open to, learning anything. However, my specific skills include:
    -Having worked in the machine shop at my college and with a company manufacturing wind turbine blades, I have knowledge of various tools and manufacturing equipment. I feel very comfortable working with my hands.
    -Having played competitive basketball for 15 years and weight trained for 10 years, I am capable of doing any physical work you might want help with.
    -I am a native English speaker, fluent in Spanish and a beginner in Arabic.
    -I bring customer service and communication skills. I have worked as the front desk attendant at my college's Recreation Center for the 3 years. While working there, I answered the phone, checked in equipment and did laundry. I have also worked in engineering where satisfying our customers' vision, complying with regulation and meeting our quotas were our main objectives.
    -I am good with computers and a variety of software and programs.
    -My Bachelor's degree is in physics so I am happy to discuss any math or science topic. I also love discussing political science and religion!
    -I have had dogs all my life so I am good with animals and enjoy spending time with them!

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

After a hike in Zion National Park in Utah, USA! The view was incredible.

Feedback