Charmaine & Kamal

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Guatemala, Indonesia, Jamaica, New Zealand, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/04/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We have been together for 5 years, living in the GTA, Ontario, Canada most of our lives. The hustle & bustle of the Metropolitan lifestyle has left us drained, unfulfilled and yearning for something more. So we have embarked on a new journey searching for off-the-grid experiences, new friendships and developing skills to build a self-sustainable way of life for our future home. Most of all, connecting back to Mother Earth; We are flexible, open minded, considerate people and we hope to join your family to add value and contribute to your current goals and lifestyle.
    We are also seeking mentors with a lifestyle worth aspiring to and learning what it takes to become mentors as well.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Kamal:
    I have worked for a demolition company in the construction of new real estate. I have skills that could contribute in the gardens, improving your landscape, the design of your open spaces, trails and guardrails. Although I am accustomed to the western world's housing development, I am eager to learn how to live alongside Mother Earth by expanding skills in bio construction, eco-friendly self sustainable methods.
    I have experience with basic use of hand/power tools, seated lawnmowers, operating over head cranes, and counter balance forklifts in the warehousing industry.
    In customer service, I have worked in a fine dining Italian restaurant as a host
    -greeting guests that walk-in
    -taking reservations & seating guests in their section
    -busing & resetting tables
    -dish washing

    Charmaine:
    Although I enjoy home cooking cuisines from all over the world, I have experience with Middle Eastern, Thai & Italian-American cuisine in the restaurant Industry cooking menu items to order simultaneously with kitchen staff according to table # in timely fashion while ensuring plating was presentable. I had to stock stations with all necessary supplies & ingredients after preparing food for service
    ;this included making sauces, chopping vegetables, butchering & marinating meats. I also cleaned the stations after service for closing ;this included storing leftover food & ingredients while complying sanitation regulations & safety standards.
    In our journeys, I most look forward to exchanging new recipes and experiencing traditional food that cultures all around the world have to offer!

    Most recently we had the opportunity to base on a property in British Columbia, Canada for 3 months. We got involved with a multitude of tasks. We learned new skills from tending to the 10 acre vineyard; This included weeding, suckering, staking the young grapevines and leafing. During Harvest season, we picked and juiced the grapes. We often bottled in the winery as well. The days were also spent rebuilding the overgrown flower bed, mowing the yard and general outdoor maintenance.

    We also volunteered at a 3 acre greenhouse in Brantford, ON. This was our first experience volunteering on the WWOOF platform. After getting our hands and feet dirty in the hot sun, we were intrigued to learn more about how far human intervention goes without having to battle against Mother Natures elements! We were helping with weeding & harvesting leafy/micro-greens, pre-washing sprouts, garnishing & packaging nutritious-dense salad blends for there market days.

    We both have worked side by side in busy fast paced operations. Together we were able to quickly adapt to new environments and in providing creative solutions to challenges that arise last minute. Through just the WorkAway platform alone, we learned so much about ourselves through each other. Personally we have grown stronger and so has our relationship.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24 & 26

  • What else ...

    Find us on the WWOOF platform as well. Click the link below to our profile :
    https://wwoof.ca/user/224306

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback