Ian

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antilles, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/11/2014 - 11/11/2014

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there,
    My names Ian and i'm a fun loving, very social person, passionate person, who loves adventures and new experiences. I love the outdoors and outdoor pursuits, especially adventure sports, cycling, hiking, climbing, kayaking and surfing. I especially enjoy endurance activities and pushing myself. I have done numerous adventure races, half marathons and cycled from dublin to tuscany in Italy a few years ago carrying my luggage with me. I completed a winter training Alaskan huskies in Arctic Norway via workaway, and spent 6 months working in Baja Mexico in a Marine national park with Workaway, both were great experiences!
    I love camping and love dogs, (have always owned/ co owned a dog and completed a dissertation on dogs role in the health and social sectors). As well as loving sport I do enjoy socialising and going for pints with friends. I also am an avid fan of rugby and boxing both of which I used to compete in. I really enjoy cooking and would often cook for friends, I have worked in professional kitchens. I consider myself quite good but every day is a school day.
    I have degrees in Irish History and in Social Care. For the majority of my adult working life I have worked in the social sector but I also have a good bit of experience in the retail, hospitality and construction sectors. I currently work as a social care worker, working with teenage males who have been put into residential care by social services for a variety of reasons. Its enjoyable work but extremely challenging (smylytrust.ie) but the time off is good! I also have recently set up an outdoor recreation business, soft Launch this year and mainly focusing on SUP Stand Up Paddleboarding.
    My goal in life is to remain happy. Quality of life is definitely more important to me than money but if both come along, happy days! I love joking and having the craic (irish expression for fun), I would be quite happy go lucky by nature. I am very outgoing.I am a hard worker and have not had a sick day in ten years. I have a large and varied circle of friends. I would hold respect openness and manners very highly within my social group. I love travelling and have been lucky enough to see a good bit of the world. As well as travelling abroad I regularly explore Ireland on my days off in my van!
    I love music and would own a large collection. I have been to numerous music festivals including Roskilde in Denmark and Electric Picnic (every year!) and I regularly go to gigs. I would be especially fond of folk, indie rock and reggae. That's a bit about me anyway!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have very good people skills, having worked in the social sector for 12 years, I would be particularly skilled in crisis intervention and challenging environments.

    I have great energy levels and a great work ethic.

    I have a lot of experience of working with people from different countries/ cultures and people whom don't speak my language. When working as a camp counsellor (CARA) in Barretstown ( camp that provides Therapeutic Recreation programmes for children with serious illnesses, and their families) for 3 years I worked with children and adults from 26 different countries most of whom had limited or no English.(barretstown.org)

    I have also worked in catering, construction and landscaping so I would have good cullinary skills and I enjoy physical labour.

  • Languages spoken

    English, a small bit of Irish Spanish and French

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • What else ...

    If you have any questions feel free to contact me!

    If required I can supply you with my CV and multiple refernces.

    I have full Police clearance (up to date)

    Can be contacted on SKYPE anytime if an interview/chat is required

    Thanks for reading the profile!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      0

    • Special dietary requirements
      0

Photos

Feedback