Graeme

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Update: May 2021 - I have arranged workaway placements until end Oct 2021. Please message me if you think I can be of help as I can still work over Winter and I'll be making plans for 2022 - hopefully this will include several Workaway placements in Europe.

    From Spring 2021, I'm taking an 18 month sabbatical after a long shift of 30 years as a Mechanical Engineer. I plan to spend this period working-away and exploring new places. I find creative & practical work satisfying and can offer a wide range of skills in exchange for the chance to spend time in beautiful surroundings and meet good people. I'm already fairly well travelled and am happy to keep my visits to the UK and Western Europe, keeping my air miles to a minimum. Hiking is my favourite activity - camping and cycling too. I may use the motorbike to cover the bigger distances - it's a fantastic way to travel. I work well on my own but the objective is to meet interesting people, hear new stories and learn new skills.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Traditional building projects - drystone walls, building with lime or cement, joinery, metalwork, roofing, carpentry, decorating, electrical & plumbing - I have designed & completed substantial renovations & new-build projects.
    Gardening or landscaping - I currently grow fruit & vegetables - organic preferably, along with trees, flowers & shrubs.
    I am quite a good cook and am generally handy around the house and with general repairs.
    People skills are in there too - I'm patient & like to learn & to share knowledge.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    53

  • What else ...

    Environmentally aware, travelling less (aren't we all just now?) and generally eating less meat - although I couldn't give it up altogether.
    I'm hoping to work at various places for 3-4 week periods, using my spare time to explore coastal and mountain regions. Possibly crofting, or working at hostels or helping with eco or traditional building projects.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback