Grace

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Grace, a 26 year old Filipino-Australian from Sydney, Australia. I'm taking a break from work to study journalism in Spain during July 2019, and travel/work in Japan from August 2019 - December 2020 to meet new people and improve my Japanese skills!

    I love learning new things and am always open to new experiences; I'm keen to help wherever I can!
    I'm really fond of baking, helping in the kitchen, writing, photography and nature. I'm also a huge fan of karaoke and singing everywhere, and I'm happiest when eating nice food :)!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Communications: I have 3 years experience in communications, working for a travel company and a local government agency so I am comfortable with copywriting, social media management, organisational and administration tasks, planning and event management. If you need someone to help with admin, comms, marketing, computers etc. I'm ready to lend a hand!

    Reception/cultural exchange: I was a receptionist for a Japanese guesthouse in Nagasaki and Kobe (2020). I also volunteered with welcoming international students to my university and ran cultural exchange/volunteer programs for 3 years.

    Language exchange: Worked at English cafes in Busan, South Korea and Okayama, Japan with various age groups, ranging from children to the elderly.

    Languages:
    Native English
    Conversational/Intermediate Japanese
    Basic Korean and Spanish (starting to learn these now!)

    General Help/Housekeeping: I worked at a traditional Japanese inn (ryokan) for 3 months in the Goto Islands doing all sorts of housekeeping and cleaning duties - in Nagasaki and Kobe as well - so I am comfortable with this type of role.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Intermediate
    Tagalog: Intermediate
    Korean: Beginner

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    Hobbies: Baking, photography, visiting art/history museums, enjoying nature, cafe hopping, pilates, going to the beach, taking walks in the park, singing, boardgames, live music. I also try to kayak and ride bikes wherever I travel!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback