Ron & Kata

From: South Africa & Hungary

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 02/04/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    468

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a family with three kids (Born 2010, 2012 and 2016). Our children are trilingual and usually participate in all we do the whole day, they grew up on the road and are used to travelling on horseback, couchsurfing, hitchhiking, camping, farms, animals, rural conditions, power shortages, irregular eating times, hot and cold weather, etc. We, the parents gladly offer longer working hours or a financial reimbursement (rent) to make up for the presence of the children. We believe in a free life that is not controlled by present economic systems and that the work we enjoy in a healthy environment is the best example we can give to our children. Since 2016 we own a campervan, so if a host does not have enough space we can sleep in the van and take care of our own food.
    As our children are getting older we try to volunteer with hosts who are involved in child education, specifically child-led education, free-range rearing, unschooling or worldschooling and possibly alternative or democratic schools. Even better, we love to stay at communities with loads of kids. In the past years we have worked at bilingual preschools, organized summer camps, horse riding vacations and language immersion courses for children, as well as helped out at several community-based education initiatives.
    We are both experienced volunteers, having worked in 4 continents on more than 80 locations in the past 10 years while travelling the world with our kids. Ron is a certified tour guide and permaculture adviser, survival and bush-craft trainer who has led numerous horseback expeditions and wildlife photography workshops to Mongolia and South America, and has also studied carpentry and worked as a construction foreman for many years. Kata is a music teacher with expertise in teaching kids, music and languages and has experience working as a cook and restaurant manager. Most of our work experience is with permaculture and organic gardening, construction and repair works, tourism, teaching English, working with children, photography and catering. We can build furniture, install windows and doors, lay bricks, install electric networks, do household plumbing, build walls and roofs or even smaller buildings, work with cement, adobe and straw bricks, build with sand bags or hay bales, etc. Ron can train horses, set up household cheese making workshops and plan permaculture projects. He has a licence to drive a tractor or a truck, operate a chainsaw and strimmer and has worked at cutting and baling alfalfa, plowing in vineyards etc. We also love to help out with cooking and food preservation, meat processing and cheese making.
    Our photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bedouin77/sets/
    Our horse riding project: https://www.facebook.com/thenaturalriderproject

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Other job experiences we accumulated over the years:

    working with children, teaching English, organizing summer camps, training horses, animal husbandry (goats, cattle, sheep, horses), setting up permaculture and vegetable gardens, poultry breeding, wildlife management, forest management, assembling computers and installing software, general garden work, construction, carpentry, electrical and plumbing works, tour guiding, archaeology, marketing campaigns, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Hungarian, Spanish, German, Slovak

  • Age

    41 & 36

  • Nationality

    South Africa, Hungary

  • What else ...

    We usually work for hosts who accept families and can provide flexible hours of work where our kids are allowed to participate in anything we do. We have no problem with working more hours a day or days per week than the official suggestion as long as it is a mutually respectful, and we can even offer rent or share food costs with hosts. We believe deeply in the concept of work exchange, cultural interaction and social equality, and give our best to help hosts achieve their goals. We are not fans of sightseeing, going out or parties, so a lot of our energy is concentrated to spend time with our children while offering days of quality work.
    Update: after trying to settle several times, we decided to keep on traveling, discovering and learning together as a family. As our children are growing, we realize their need for company and to socialize with other kids of all ages. For this reason we prefer to volunteer with families or communities where there are other children around all day. Our education program is based on democratic schooling, unschooling and world-schooling principles, and we would love to share our experiences with other like-minded families.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      fast food

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Canning green mango pickles and chutney, Brazil
Cleaning catfish, Argentina
Ready to hit the road again, Chile
First time on a horse alone, Mongolia
Herding grey cattle, Hungary
Fixing the fence, Russia
Repairing a loghouse and building an adobe oven, Switzerland
Archery and survival training, United Arab Emirates
Training horses to be child-friendly, Austria
Grape harvest and wine-making, Spain
Making coconut milk and ice-cream, Panama
A 5-day jungle hike to the largest pyramid on Earth. El Mirador, Guatemala
Building a workbench and chairs, Argentina
Renovating old chairs, Turkey
Driving a tractor and ploughing a vineyard, Argentina

Feedback