Guillaume

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 25/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello everyone !

    I’m Guillaume (23) from the north of France. 2 years ago, I have been traveling around Europe for a year with a friend thanks to workaway. At the end of this trip, I settled down to be an engineer in the north of France to start living the life that I was told to live. However I quickly realized that I wasn’t really enjoying my life and that I missed traveling, meeting people and enjoying nature. I feel there is so much to see and do in this world and, for me, this is the best time to do it ! Therefore I decided to quit everything and go all-in with my passion which is cooking and baking.

    I’ll be learning french cooking in the south of France starting from September and decided to make an adventure out of the trip to go there. So I bought a motorcycle, packed my bags and hit the road. But an adventure wouldn’t be one without workaway experiences. So… here I am ! Ready to meet amazing people again ! Ready to help making amazing projects come to life again !

    Also, something worth mentioning, I’m financing this trip thanks to my side hustle as a math and physics online teacher. It takes me an hour a day, 4 days a week, on average. But I can create my own schedule and I’m willing to work an extra hour later or earlier in the day to compensate, so I’m sure we can make it work :D

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have engineering skills which can be helpful for some renovation tasks (structure resistance, plumbing, wood cutting…) or IT related stuff.
    In a more practical level, my previous workaway experiences were in vegetable farms, renovation sites and hostels, so I have most of the basics covered in those (ground work, room cleaning, reception, terrace building, basic wood constructions, destroying a lot of walls with a hammer…).
    Also if you have a piano I can play a bit and, I didn’t have a proper training yet, but I can cook some (not too bad) stuff :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I see Workaway as a unique opportunity to visit a country not simply as a tourist, but to truly integrate yourself with the people and their culture. It gives you the chance to really experience life in a different place, while making this wonderful exchange of skills and knowledge.
    I’ve grown and learned so much during my previous trip that I wouldn’t even consider doing this one without volunteering.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback