Sangyub

From: South Korea

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/12/2018 - 08/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    About my travel

    I’ve been traveling by bicycle since 2017 August. Started from South Korea. Yes, that’s where I was born and raised. So far, I’ve been through Russia, Mongolia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Armenia, Georgia, Turkey, Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Greece, Albania, Kosovo, Montenegro and Bosnia

    Why?

    I didn’t have any great reason at the first place. Just wanted to do long term travel. Not like 20 months but like 6 months. And something challenging, something seems not possible. It was my first idea.
    Now, I keep traveling because I want to understand better. Want to understand who I am, who we are, where we are living.

    About me

    I was born in South Korea, 1992. As a boy I had a lot of curiosity in my heart. Remember the first time I took a bus by myself at age 7. That feeling makes me keep traveling. The mixture of fear and excitement. There’s something I remember my mom used to say to me. “Try before you say you can’t” she must spoke to me a lot enough to engrave in my head. Back then I was probably smart enough to know that is not possible even before try. From then to now I’ve gradually got more stupidity to try before thinking. Since I started travel, I realized that there’s no absolute right. Travel have been continuous procedures of breaking my fantasies and prejudices.

    More...

    I love to cook and also eating that’s one of the the ways for me to understand the world. I used to work in the ginger farm in Australia a year and half. Sometimes drove tracker and sprayed. Also I love handcrafts especially woodworking, have an experience at woodworking about six months so I’m not a master though I know how to use most of power tools and can make furnitures. In the future I wanna learn about joint and timber frame. When I was aged 20, I served in marine for two years as a driver. So I can say know how to drive. And I used to teach mathematics to 7-9 grade students for six months.

    I’m interested in self reliance lifestyle I can’t say I know how to do everything but I can say I’m a good and fast learner. After all this travel, I think I become more rounded person, got more comfortable with relationships. I’m ready for everything!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Farming, simple woodworking, Cooking and baking, can do anything with two hand.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Korean

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    South Korea

  • What else ...

    I’m doing some kind of experiment like my travel. Since few months ago, I’ve been trying to being vegan and to stop drinking, smoking and also sugar and caffeine recently chocolate. Of course it’s not easy. The reason is I want to be independent. I know no one can be a perfect human. But even if I go back on the way, at least I can say I tried.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan(flexible)

Photos

Feedback