Gitte

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/10/2020 - 20/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi!
    I'm a sociable, open-minded 24-year Belgian girl who is constantly looking for the valuables in life. I'm always open to learn and to accept challenges. I love to be free as a bird and I'm always trying to make the world a better place. I strongly believe that the world would be a better place if we all helped each other out more, so that's what I would love to do with this experience :-). My hobbies are theatre (playing and watching), hiking in nature, reading and having good conversations with a glass of wine ;-).

    After I graduated as an interpreter (Dutch, English, Italian) in 2018, I started working as a teacher and I have been teaching up until now. After those two years of teaching, I feel like I'm up to something completely different. I would love to spread my wings abroad and take whatever challenge comes my way! I would like to exchange knowledge, experience, ways of living... with others, because I believe this leads us all towards a better, more friendly, tolerant and more sociable world.

    With this experience, on the one hand, I hope to get some insights about who I am, what I want in life, what really makes me happy... On the other hand, I just want to enjoy being abroad, knowing new people, doing something completely different than I did in Belgium. So the ideal Workaway for me would be a combination of getting to know new people and learning new skills, together with having some personal space, time to wander around and think.

    Preferably I would love to do this in my true love Italy ;-)! I have studied Italian at university because I absolutely love the Italian language, culture, people, country...! In 2016, I lived for 5 months in Napoli for my Erasmus and ever since I've been in love with Napels and the south of Italy. I would love to revisit Napels, but also to discover new places in (the south of) Italy where I've never been before!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    As an interpreter and language lover, I'm fluent in English, Italian, Dutch and French. I would love to share my knowledge of these languages with others. Most of all I love to work with people (social contact is important to me), but I also love being outside and working in nature. Physical work doesn't scare me either (as a student I have done some really tough jobs, such as collecting trash bags).

    I have been active in a Belgian youth movement for many many years and every year we open a big campsite to welcome people from all over the world that participate in a 100-kilometers walking tour that is organised in my hometown. There, I have been working as a bar responsible for 5 years (building the bar, selling drinks to people, cleaning, supplying, ...). This is my first Workaway experience, so no history of that whatsoever, but I'm eager to learn and always motivated and enthousiastic!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I work as a volunteer for a feminist organisation that strives for equality in the film, media and television industries. I would be happy to share our vision and goals with you! Besides that, you could also describe me as an environmental activist, so I love to debate / have conversations on these topics ;-) (but I'm happy to casually have some chitchat from time to time as well of course!)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian (so no meat, no fish)

Feedback