Nicola & Paddy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/01/2019 - 21/04/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    192

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi Im Nicola and i love an adventure! I am 45, and English. I am a hard worker Northern English lass and willing to turn my hand to anything. I would consider my personality to be friendly, down to earth, caring and i can be quiet but I am also a sociable person and I like a good laugh. I am a holistic therapist specializing in Reiki and Crystal Healing. I am fit and healthy, I like to exercise and I enjoy yoga and Tai chi. My work before i was a therapist was within the Hospitality Industry where I gained a lot of experience in hotels, restaurants and bars. I worked within the housekeeping and food service departments. I also had a holiday cottage which I ran myself, involving the marketing of it and the cleaning.
    I am travelling with my partner Paddy whom my profile is linked with.
    Hello and welcome to my profile,my name is Paddy and I have listed my jobs, skills and abilities below, here's a little bit about me. I am a very young 49 year old who is off on an adventure with my partner I have 2 sons aged 25 and 23and a daughter 18 who live with there mother and they are fully behind me in this.
    It has become abundantly obvious to me that to be happy in this life I have to be helping others, this is my aim.
    I can work well in a group or community or with a single person in an isolated spot, it makes no difference to me, I just want to help.
    I meditate every day and I am happy to teach others mediation and basic tai chi, or not it's up to you, haha
    I am non religious and my basic philosophy is one of love, and that's enough for me.
    I am a friendly person who likes people, there is always something to like about a person if you give them a chance.
    I enjoy working, I'm prepared to turn my hand to anything that needs doing and I look forward to meeting you.
    X

    Here is a reference from a previous host that is no longer on workaway-

    Françoise Schelstraete
    EarthSpirit
    Lockyers Farm
    Dundon
    Somerton
    TA11 6PE
    20 September 2017


    To whom it might concern,

    This is to confirm that Nicola and Paddy has volunteered and worked at the EarthSpirit Centre from the 23rd April to the 31st August 2017.

    We all really enjoyed Nicola and Paddys natural good mood and willingness. They have been appreciated as people and for their work. Nicola and Paddy has a positive and stress free attitude to life.


    Best regards,

    Françoise Schelstraete

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Nicola - I have many skills which include cooking, housekeeping, computer skills, looking after animals, helping host meditation classes. I have been a holistic therapist for 17 years and i practice Reiki as a way of life. I live my life with a belief that we are here to help each other and i as I am a Vegetarian/Vegan I do not wish to use animals for my needs. I love animals and am a big dog lover . I also want to help our planet more and one of my reasons for travelling is to hopefully learn how to live eco friendly and off grid.

    Hi, my name is Paddy and I have various skills to offer, I can cook and bake, I have owned two small bakeries and a sandwich and catering outlet in the past, those of you running a small business will understand what this involves, lots of long hours and hard work.
    I have also worked for a water company in London and as such I have received training for heavy plant machinery I.e sit on roller, 7.5 ton dumper truck and tele handlers, I can build roads and paths, I can use hot Tarmac or concrete and slab work
    I have also done sales and pr, for my own business and many others including door to door and sales stands for gas and electric and charities. I am also a yachtsman owing a 21ft Wharam Cat. I was also a Berthing Master for 10 years.
    More recently I have been teaching meditation and i am a qualified Laughter Yoga teacher. This is where my main interest lies right now, and it's always right now, haha.

  • Languages spoken

    english

  • Age

    46 & 50

  • Nationality

    british

  • What else ...

    Nicola - I would be keen to learn new skills such as gardening and farming. I love animals.
    Paddy - We are both experienced travelers and love going to new places to meet new people, our plans are flexible and we are open to offers but I would love to go surfing!

    We are on this trip to learn how to live off grid and be self sufficient. Maybe also like to live as part of a community. We are both spiritual people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Paddy is allergic to garlic

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegetarian although we try to eat as much vegan food as possible

Photos

At our host place in Murcia
Walking our hosts dog in Nerja, taking a break from decorating.
Taking tiles and plaster from kitchen walls
Renovating in Nerja 13/2/19
13/2/19 painting and priming
In Glastonbury on a day off from our hosts retreat.

Feedback