Gemma

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 23/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello lovely hosts :) I'm Gemma, 32 years old and, having just spent six months volunteering at a dog shelter in Greece, am now on the south coast of Turkey.

    I love exploring new cities as well as taking hikes in the countryside, and being outdoors surrounded by nature and animals!

    I'm a flexible and open-minded person and really enjoy hearing other viewpoints and broadening my horizons. As well as learning more about animal care, I'd love to learn more about sustainable practices and being kinder to our planet.

    I hope to meet you soon!
    Gemma

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    So far on my previous travels, I've been lucky and experienced a variety of roles:

    •most recently volunteering for six months at a dog shelter in Greece (also looking after their stray cats)

    •volunteering to walk dogs (for those sheltering from COVID) in England

    •helping through Workaway at an organic vegetable farm in Portugal

    •cleaning for a hostel in New Zealand

    •picking grapes and working on a plant nursery in Australia

    •volunteering at a turtle conservation charity in Costa Rica

    •volunteering at an orphanage and at a primary school in Thailand

    •working on a hostel reception in Australia, plus years of experience in customer service and hospitality

    I really loved sharing people's passions and a common goal during these experiences! I'm also very happy learning new skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    If you have any questions for me then please don't hesitate to ask :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback