Gary

From: Japan

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/08/2019 - 01/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a retired engineer and US Navy veteran. I have been living in Japan for about 25 years. I am married and have 3 children. My son is attending college in Japan and my youngest daughter has just started college at Unity Maine. I grew-up in Maine but left for the navy after high school. I have been a handyman and DIY guy all my life. I can do carpentry, electrical, plumbing, painting, mechanical and other stuff. I also love to cook. I can speak a little Japanese and know a lot about the culture. I have also traveled extensively in Asia, Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Thailand, Maldives, China, Hong Kong, Australia. I am interested in a work/stay in Maine so I can be close to my daughter off and on during the school year. I would prefer a stay that provides a private bedroom and bath with a shower otherwise I am pretty open to all accomodations.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about: 

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    Carpentry, plumbing, electrical, painting, mechanical repair, cooking

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Age

    64

  • What else ...

    Enjoy, fishing, hiking, backpacking, canoe, kayak

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback