Jen & Gregor

  • United States & France
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Top Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    Norway - from May 2022 until May 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hi!

    We're Gregor and Jen, and after two and a half years of living a stable life, we are back on the road! We have just finished building our van and will be traveling throughout Europe for the foreseeable future.

    In January 2017, we left behind our jobs and apartment in the US to pursue a life on the road full-time. Through Workaway, we have had some incredibly interesting and diverse experiences. We have loved learning and meeting all of the amazing people on this platform, and we are excited to get started again! We stopped our full-time travels in 2019 and rented a little house in the mountains of France to work and save up some money.

    A little bit about us:

    Gregor is a dual French/German citizen and is an engineer by schooling, specializing in renewable energies. He is a philosophy nut, an avid chess player, an adrenaline junky, and a lover of animals and spending time outdoors. Gregor is always in an excellent mood and brings a tireless work ethic to a variety of projects!

    Jen is a dual American/French citizen who has a food science degree. She has made lots of career pivots: flavor chemist, sourdough bread baker, professional pet sitter/dog walker, and online English teacher. She loves working with animals, cooking and eating good food, permaculture, and spending time outdoors. Jen loves learning new things and living close to the earth!

    A few IMPORTANT things:
    - We are vegetarians! We do not eat any meat or fish. We do eat dairy and eggs.
    - We will not require housing since we will be traveling in our van that is entirely self-sufficient. This is great for your privacy and ours! We would only need water to fill up our water tank, and access to a hot shower would be nice. :)
    - We have a dog, Pjokken, who travels with us. He is an 11-year-old retired sled dog who we adopted from a previous Workaway project!

    We are very active people who love hiking, running, playing tennis, and a million other outdoor activities. We have a passion for sustainable living, so working on projects with this emphasis is of particular interest to us. Our hopes are to live self-sufficiently, and we hope to gain as much knowledge as possible in that respect. We love to work outdoors and get our hands dirty!

    We are both fluent in English and French. Jen has an intermediate level in Spanish. Gregor has an intermediate level in German.

    Thanks for reading! :)

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    So far, we've completed projects where we've helped with:
    - Hobby farm work (fence repair, gardening, weeding, dog walking)
    - Minor construction projects (building a composting toilet out of materials found on premises in New York, building tent platforms in the Caribbean)
    - Woodworking projects
    - Two sled dog projects: 1) helping to care for a pack of 19 sled dogs (poop scooping, feeding, entertainment, snuggling) in Alaska, and 2) helping to care for a pack of 30+ sled dogs in the Arctic Circle of Norway while working with guests
    - Caring for, grooming, and entertaining 11 Bernese mountain dogs in the Italian Alps
    - Building our own van and learning a ton about basic construction, plumbing, electricity, etc.!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    30 & 29

  • What else ...

    Although we are flexible with tasks and love to try/learn new things, neither of us would be comfortable with activities that in any way involve animal suffering. This includes butchering, using animals for entertainment, meat processing, etc.!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Both vegetarians (no meat, fish or gelatin, but we do eat dairy and eggs)

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback