Gaia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/03/2019 - 31/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi workaway! My name is Gaia and I am from Vermont. I am a photographer and visual artist. I love to go running and hiking and I want to explore new countries, cultures, and ways of living. I also really want to learn how to cook new foods! I've been to Mexico, Colombia, Italy, Sweden, France, Brazil, and Greece, but always as a tourist, and I hope that workaway can help me have an authentic experience in whatever country I decide to go to.

    I want to do workaway because I find traveling to other countries to be very grounding. Sometimes I get stuck in a daily routine and its impossible to think outside of the box and do something new. I am interested in volunteering with projects and individuals, in exchange for the opportunity to live in another country in an immersive way. Workaway hosts seem like really interesting people with a lot of insights to share. I also want to experience teaching english. My mother is half Colombian and half Swedish and so I grew up speaking Spanish, and I know first hand how useful it is to be able to communicate with people from other countries. I would like to be able to share my ability with people and communities who are interested in learning. I also want to meet new people!

    Over the years I have worked on farms with animals and in vegetable gardens. I have done a lot of hospitality work in restaurants and bars so I know how to communicate with people in a friendly and professional way.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I can use Adobe applications like Photoshop and inDesign, as well as make websites. Activism work---outreach and research. I can cook bread! I've worked in many restaurants so I know how to clean up a space, communicate with guests, and be social and fun. I have also worked on farms taking care of chickens, pigs, sheep, cows, and horses so I am familiar with animal care. I have worked in vegetable gardens seeding, tending, and harvesting crops.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback