Flora

  • Spain
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    01/02/22: Just arrived on Antigua after 2.5 months of Voluntering at Mayreau Animal. 10/11/21: Mayreau, doing a house/dog sitting Workaway. we have about 20 dogs to take care off.

  • Description

    16/May/2021:
    Flora: I am now voluntering alone, because Jelle has a sailing job, so he is away for a few weeks every 2 months. I am now traveling through Spain in our Camper. This means I could also sleep in the camper if the amount of beds are limited. In the weeks that I am traveling alone I would like to be a volunteer to help people and also to be around animals and conscious and positive people.
    I will be in a Vipassana course in Candeleda from the 19th till the 30st of May, so I will not reply to messages, because I will be off line untill the morning of the 30st.

    1/Feb/2020:
    Since Dec. we have now worked with 4 different WorkAway hosts. Two hosts on Guadeloupe and two hosts on Dominica. We worked with : wood, driftwood, bamboo, cocospalmleave, planting trees, pruning, painting, baking bread, making yoghurt, taking care of many animals, mostly dogs and cats, among many other things. Also concrete, and just fixing things that are broken. We are traveling with our kitesurfing gear and we just go kitesurfing if there is a good kitespot and good wind.

    Dec/2019:
    I sailed around the world in our small sailing yacht from 2009-2012, together with Jelle.
    We have lived on our Spanish farm, including a rental apartment from 2015-2019.
    We sold everything, now ready to help others.
    Since 6 years we have known and used Workaway only as Hosts at our own house in the countryside in Spain. That has always been a great experience. We had a small B&B at the house. We have sold that house now. We had 1 dog and 4 chickens, but we will not bring them with us on our travels :) . We don't have children, (by choice.) Last year Flora worked as a volunteer at a refugee camp on Lesvos, Greece for 3 weeks.

    I'm from Holland but have lived/worked in many countries (Australia, N.Z., French Polynesia, South Africa, Thailand, Spain) and on our sailing-boat for 3 years, sailing half the globe, mostly visiting tropical islands.
    In the future we will sail again, and from then we want to use our boat to help with an organisation, bringing materials and researchers to remote places that can only be reached with a shallow sailing boat.

    We have been living in the South of Spain since 4 years. Here we did renovations, running an B&B, teaching yoga and working as real estate agent. Before this we lived in Thailand, working on a sailing boat with tourists. Before Thailand we lived on our boat for 3 years.
    Flora:
    studies: Ecological watermanagement, a sailor and Medical Biologist, Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga and Meditation. I will tell a little bit about myself. At the moment I am 43 years old. I am and have always been very adventurous and curious to learn new things, both about the outside world, (traveling), as the inside world, how the brain/mind works. Maybe I can describe myself as an explorar/researcher and life is my favourite subject that I am researching :). Both in Thailand and in Spain I did 6 times a silent meditation course that I really like and I learned a lot from that. (3 x Vipassana)
    I get very enthusiastic about nature, communicating with animals and the working of the human mind/body. I like to help people who are suffering or in pain or unhappy. Or people who just need help.
    I love really all kinds of animals, small and big, (as long as they don't hurt me).
    Before the sailingadventure (2009-2012) I was in the Dutch Olympic team from 2004 until 2008. At the moment I teach yoga and meditation (and English). I like kite-surfing, snorkling, free diving, spear fishing (I only fish the amount I can eat). hiking, singing, doing nothing, being around animals, practice consciousness. I meditate every day and try to stay conscious as much as possible.
    I love to live in remote places and be as self sufficient as possible.
    In DIY jobs I tend to be the more perfectionist (not very fast :) ) worker.

    We have many reviews as hosts. Please find the reviews on our Host-profile: Flora and Jelle, Spain, Andalucia

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Self development
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Thai: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Languages
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Flora:
    -From renovating a few houses I learned, cementing, repairing walls, building kitchens, simple electric work. painting, woodwork. etc.
    -Yoga teacher (Yin Yoga, Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, Mindful Yoga for Chronic pains, conscious stretching and relaxing)
    -Meditation guide (Vipassana, Mindfulness, Concentration, Awareness, Relaxation, Acceptance)
    -Sailor: I have been a profesional Olympic sailor in the Dutch Olympic sailing team.
    -I sailed around half the world on my own small sailing boat together with Jelle.
    -I can repair small diesel engines, small outboard engines, simple 12 V electricity, clean/fillet a big fish or chicken. - -
    - Also lot of experience with Fiberglass, Epoxy, Sikaflex, etc.
    -I have the Rescue Diver licence with the First Aid licence.
    -I used to be a descent free-diver, but I am out of practice. Hopefully it will come back.
    -I like to take photos under water. I have patience with taking photos of animals.
    (I don't have a lot of patience with computers, but I can practice my patience)
    -I speak English, Spanish, French, German and Dutch and I teach English to refugees here in Spain.
    -From the Olympic sailing I learned both many mental and physical exercises.
    - I can train dogs with difficult behavior or fear.
    -I can cut your hair.
    -I can set up simple science project and do research.

  • Age

    45

  • What else ...

    We like to practice teachings from people like Buddha, Eckhart Tolle and other wise/conscious people. This means we try to practice non-judgement, being in the present moment and reducing the ego, compassion towards all living beings, keeping life simple and choosing to think positive.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Flora: I love garlic and unions, but I try to avoid them when they are raw. Sometimes they make me feel sick when they are raw

    • Special dietary requirements
      Flora: not really but I try to avoid raw garlic and raw union :) I normally don't eat things with added sugar like cookies, sweets, chocolate. So that leaves more for the rest of the people. Most alcohol gives me a headache, except Rum!! :) I love coconut

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback