Sheran & Claire

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/10/2020 - 30/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We have recently moved to Portugal and are looking for places to volunteer where we can learn more about homesteading, regenerative agriculture and animal care. We have just completed an introductory natural building course and are in the process of looking for land on which we can create rich healthy diverse soil life and grow nutritious and delicious food for ourselves, animals and community. We are keen to learn from others living here that are already living in a more self-sufficient way.

    We have experience on different farms and gardens, so are very comfortable with the demands of living a self-sufficient life. We spent 6 months working on a goat dairy in Washington state which also had chickens & ducks. It is so important or us that animals are well cared for and even though we eat ethically raised meat, we want to make sure the animals have the best lives possible and are keen to learn all we can to ensure we are able to do this.

    We are invested in our health and the health of those and the land around us. Sheran has worked as a chef at Yoga retreats over the last few years and Claire has recently started studying herbal medicine. We are passionate about growing and preparing food and love to get our hands in the earth. Claire attended a Permaculture course which has become a growing passion for both of us. We have been trying to implement practices that enrich the Earth whenever we can, building hügelkulturs, preparing compost teas and biodynamic preparations for the soil. We are hoping to find an exchange where we can continue to learn practical skills and in return offer our hard work, enthusiasm and creative talents.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    We both love to cook, preserve and experiment with ferments. Sheran has worked as a chef over the past few years and makes delicious sourdough bread.

    We have experience working with animals, milking goats, caring for chickens, mucking and feeding.

    Garden care, planning, planting, day to day care, harvesting & preserving.

    Although new to it, we have very basic skills in natural building and carpentry.

    Natural body-care, making clay toothpastes, body butters, salves and balms.

    Photography, Claire loves to take pictures of nature & animals.

    Basic graphic design skills (Canva).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    31 & 32

  • What else ...

    We both like to practice yoga. Sheran is interested in astrology & bio-dynamics. Claire enjoys learning about nutrition, herbal medicine, Tai Chi & the Tarot.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      gluten-free

Feedback