Ana Lucia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/05/2016 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello/Hola! I am Ana Lucia (Ana or Ana Lu for short). I grew up in the United States (Michigan) with my family, but I am originally from Torreon, Mexico.
    I am fluent in both English and Spanish and am always looking to learn to speak a new language.
    I completed my undergrad at Northern Michigan University with a degree in Environmental Studies and Sustainability, and a minor in Native American Studies (December 2015). During my undergrad I worked with the university in establishing a permaculture garden called Superior Acre Permaculture (2013-2015). I also worked on a small farm in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan in the summer of 2014.
    After graduating school I travelled to Europe (2016) to continue learning about sustainable practices while doing Workaway. I spent 7 months abroad and worked at 5 different projects in France, Spain, Italy, and Portugal. The projects all ranged in tasks and objectives and I learned a lot. I was able to paint murals, do basic maintenance around farms, and lots of gardening and farming.
    After travelling (February 2017) I began working at a Maple syrup farm in Vermont, USA (a farm I loved so much I returned for a second season the following year). During this time I applied and got into CalEarth- a superadobe school in California. I attended from September 2017 to December 2017. During this time I completed the long-term apprenticeship and got my PDC (permaculture design certificate). In the summer of 2018 I travelled to India for two months and volunteered at Govardhan Eco Village (north of Mumbai), where I worked alongside with local farmers and assisted with help on the organic farm and gardens.
    I am have now just left Tasmania, Australia (2019) where I was living in the Huon Valley and picking apples in the region for four months.

    That all being said, I have SO much more to learn and while I have learned a lot with the projects and jobs I have had, I want to develop more experience in gardening, farming, and permaculture while traveling!
    I am a very creative person and art is a huge part of my life. I hope to create some beautiful artwork and projects while traveling.
    I am someone who enjoys working, learning, creating, meeting new people, enjoying life, being in nature, and overall having a good time. I adapt to people and situations easily, I have a good sense of humor, am easy going and open minded.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, farming, permaculture, eco-building, sculpture, painting, drawing, and mural work

  • Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Mexican, American, French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

audette


Feedback