Federico

From: Argentina

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2015 - 30/01/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    939

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Fede, a 30 year old Argentinian backpacker and traveller more interested in meeting people and having adventures than stamps in my passport :)
    I live a nomadic lifestyle, travelling slowly from place to place. For me WorkAway is the perfect opportunity to appreciate different cultures, enjoy & help in diverse environments, try new regional food & drink; and most importantly, to be able to share these lifetime experiences with like-minded people.
    I'm sociable and love to be around people, talk, laugh, swap stories, learn... I'm handyman, skater, snowboarder, shitty surfer :P, electrician, Photojournalist and hard worker.
    For the last 4 years I've been travelling and working/volunteering in hostels and bars along Argentina, Brazil, Europe, South East Asia, Australia, Middle East and Morocco as well as a photographer in several places like Barcelona, Berlin and Dublin.

    There is never enough time to get to know a culture, a place, people but staying longer in places gets you closer to that than just passing by.

    Before leaving my country i worked for 4 years a photojournalist in some newspapers and as qualified electromechanical technician in the industrial maintenance area of a factory for two years

    I love being around travellers and hear amazing stories that make me feel more inspired to keep travelling the world, and also being part of an amazing staff that spread the good vibes all around.
    My parents back in Argentina run a cultural center where they promote permaculture, build sustaintable and help disabled children to have a better lifestyle. I was involved from the very first time and is something really rewarding in so many levels that i would love to join some sustaitable and eco projects to learn and develop new skills and put to work mine aswel.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Having worked in maintenance means that every day we performed a different job and not just in the electric field so I have experience in welding , metal carpentry, painting , engineering and building. I´m a general handyman and i like to challenge myself fixing stuff. We had to fix stuff with no instrucction manual so basically we had to became some sort of MacGyvers :P

    As photographer, Im always with my camera taking pictures, trying to capture the reallity as it is. In university i had amazing professors/photographers/persons that made my eye really sharp. If you want a shot, if you wanna have the shot that´s on your mind, go for it! As the great Robert Cappa said: "if a picture is not good enough, you are not close enough" and is talking about that symbolic thing of getting involve and being part.

    Working in so many different hostels made me focus my eye for detail, that photography gave me, to the area of hospitality. The guests are your guests. You are opening the doors of your house to people from all around the world and allowing them to discover the city, have an amazing experience and meet a lot of like-minded people. Even when you are "not on duty" you are on duty, you represent the hostel 24/7 and you need to act accordingly. Thats why you have to make them feel at home. From just saying hello when passing by, to offering your help if you see someone a little bit lost. From giving advices of what to do and what to visit while in the city and if possible join them to share amazing stories of the road with a beer in hand. It sounds obvious but after all, thats the point of hostels :)

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Argentina

  • What else ...

    Though I am social and I love to party. I really enjoy more relaxed environments where you can hear each other talk, share good chats, make more strong relationships, and gain more than a hangover the next morninng

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

As photographer on a Football Match
Building a skate ramp
Sleeping with my friend
Photoshooting in Berlin Marathon 2015
Fixing Bikes
Gone Surfing! Western Australia
Surfin in Taghazout, Morocco
With Chewbacca in Wadi Rum Desert
Climbing sandstone in Wadi Rum, Jordan
Ha Giang province, north Vietnam. From my motorbike trip. 4000km around Vietnam and Cambodia
Snowboarding in High Tatras, Slovakia

Feedback