Fiona

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/07/2019 - 27/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am a friendly, hardworking postgraduate student studying Environmental History at the University of St Andrews. I am a keen traveller looking to improve my German language skills and visit exciting historical places that I haven't been to before. I love working with animals and children, which stops me from missing my own three cats (Lucy, Jack and Scraggy) quite so much whilst I'm away...! I am a singer and lover of music of all kinds. Though quiet by nature, I am friendly and enthusiastic; I love helping others and getting things done efficiently. I have been teaching English to Polish students for the past two summers and have absolutely loved my time there, but have always flown through German airports without ever being able to stop off! This summer, I would love to be able to explore the beautiful country I have heard so much about (and maybe even try some Apfelstrudel...!). I love meeting new people and learning about/ immersing myself in different cultures

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    During my undergraduate degree, I have worked part-time as a babysitter, and so I have experience of looking after/ entertaining young children. I love working with animals and, aside from taking care of my own cats, I have been a volunteer dog walker at the local animal sanctuary for around a decade! I spent the summer of 2016 in the Peruvian Amazon carrying out conservation and construction work there, too. I have also worked with older children, including teaching English to Polish students aged 11-19 over the past two summers, and immersion History teaching to French-speaking students in rural Belgium, so I would be ideally placed to provide any help with English language learning. This teaching experience has also been enhanced by volunteering as an ambassador for the Royal Geographical Society, as I have been visiting primary and secondary schools to teach the students there about how fascinating Geography- and the world- can be. Whilst at university, I have mentored students with special educational needs, which has been a really rewarding experience for me. I have started to learn German this past year, and whilst my language skills at the moment are quite basic, I am very keen to improve on them during my time in Germany. I am an extremely tidy and organised person, a great team worker and communicator, and I am very flexible and open to learning new skills and taking on new challenges!

  • Languages spoken

    I am fluent in English, have advanced French and am learning German, Dutch and Polish at a beginner's level. I also have basic knowledge of British Sign Language

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I am a lover of all things musical; I play the piano and sing Soprano in the University choir. I love writing and write articles about human rights issues for Protocol, a student-run University magazine. I devour books on pretty much any topic, but especially history, and love being immersed in a good film, or in board games new and old...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback