Fabien

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2017 - 01/09/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    734

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!

    Formerly working for about 10 years on music festivals as general manager/CTO/stage manager/carpenter/electrician/decorator etc etc etc., I left France in September 2017, tired by the capitalist and destructive system I was living in, looking for a different lifestyle, more sustainable, close to nature and people, willing to be part of the solutions for a better world.

    I moved to S.E. Asia, leaving everything behind me, with the aim to learn about permaculture and natural building and finally open my own project or join an existing one.
    I finally settled very quickly in Indonesia where I joined an education center for permaculture still under construction and stayed almost 2 years there, becoming an actual partner, managing the builders and gardeners team, working on the construction and in the garden myself as well as learning about permaculture and bamboo building in the same time.
    Unfortunately, I had to leave for personal reasons I will not develop here (you can ask me if you're interested in my profile)

    Having some friends in Costa Rica, I decided to continue my journey in this country where people seems to be aware about how nature is precious, and continue to learn more and more about permaculture, plants and natural building, while helping on a project I will feel useful, making friends, and enjoying life.

    I'm someone quiet, reliable, honest and easily adaptable.
    I like things well done, well thought, so we don't loose energy fixing and fixing again rather than something fast but bad at the end.
    I like planning and organizing so everything runs smoothly.
    I'm someone attached to words value. "Do what you say, say what you do". I like to be with people who are proactive to and keep their words.
    For me this is a matter of self respect and mutual respect.

    I like music, friends, having deep conversations with them, politic, philosophy, games and some party time to time as well..
    And of course, I love nature, animals and I want to help to create solutions for a better world, on my scale.

    I strongly believe permaculture is one of these solutions, that it can truly help to reconnect people with nature and with other people, fix what has been destroyed by conventional agriculture and help us to find our place as part of the big circle of life.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Hard worker (some would say hyperactive haha) I'm someone very versatile, very curious, I always consider something I don't know yet is not a problem but an opportunity to learn.

    My main skills are manual skills and planning/organization skills :
    - Construction work (carpentry, electricity, plumbing, bamboo crafting etc...)
    - Gardening/farming, animal care, garden design etc. (I have the PDC)
    - Organizing the work so everything is smooth in the process (team leading, schedule, getting materials on time etc..) Thanks to my previous life organizing festivals

    I can also help
    - with the guests if you are a guesthouse or resort
    - computer work (Hardware, Windows, internet, Excel, Word, autocad, illustrator, filemaker...)
    - mechanics a bit but I'm not a specialist.
    - and of course with anything about theater, concerts etc. where you could need technical help (sound, light, scaffolding ...)

    I don't like to be bored. Give me work! ;)

  • Languages spoken

    French, English, Indonesian (still a lot to learn), starting to learn Spanish

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    I can drive a car, a motorbike, a truck, a forklift, a cherrypicker and ride a horse!! (just in case)

    I'm diver beginner. (Open water SSI)

    Otherwise i would like to start to practice yoga and meditation but until now it has been difficult for me to take the time. If you practice i would be happy to join and learn!

    For those who are looking for only non smoker volunteer, as this website doesn't give the possibility to add comment on this section, please note that i'm not a big smoker, i'm in the process to quit so a non smoking environment is actually an opportunity for me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      some pollen

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm sensitive to some industrial wheat flour, most probably because of the pesticides

Photos

Vetiver and it's strong roots
Butterfly pea harvest
bamboo panel for a compost box
Sun Angle Box to help to understand sun position charts
First self made ram pump

Feedback